Your Birthdate: A Guiding Compass to Your Calling

small_84107876

 

“ Whatever is born or done at this moment, has the qualities of this moment of time”

– Carl Jung, philosopher and psychoanalyst 

 

During college I changed majors multiple times, I went from pharmacy to psychology to finally settling on writing and rhetoric. I had no idea what career I would pursue with this degree, but it was pretty much the only thing I seemed to be decent at so I went with it. Five years later, after all the hopping around, I graduated and I still had no idea which career path to take. Seeking to clarify which profession I was more suited for, I took to analyzing the career aspects of my birth chart.

Birth Chart

The birth chart is an astrological snapshot of the moment you took your first breath of life, it maps the unique positions of the Sun, Moon, and Planets relative to the Earth at the time of your birth. For many centuries and throughout many cultures it has been used as one of the basic tools in Astrology for predicting personality traits and personal dispositions.

The chart consists of 12 equal sections called houses. The houses contain the 10 planets and 12 zodiac signs  arranged according to their positions in the sky when your were born. Each house deals with different topics, for example House 1 deals with topics of the self identity and physical appearance, House 2 deals with money matters, and House 10 deals with career and your calling.

small_2950318899At first this birth chart business sounded like superstitious gibberish, but then I looked at it from a scientific perspective. Okay so we are all made up of the same matter, protons, neutrons, and electrons all exerting a gravitational pull or force on each other. This applies to our solar system as well, the planets all exert some kind of gravitational effect upon each other, i.e the moon’s gravitational pull affects the ocean tides here on Earth, etc. So what if the unique astro alignments at the time and date over the place of my birth does influence the unique arrangement of this matter I’m made of. Mind you, I’m no Einstein and this is all very theoretical.   

Delving into the chart, I was impressed by the accuracy of some of the predictions. For example, in House 4, the house dealing with both the home one comes from and the one we will set up, was Sagittarius. In the description of this placement it said that I would certainly marry a foreigner or go live abroad permanently and set up home there. This in fact is true, I was born in Cuba I moved to the States permanently when I was 9. Though I’m not married yet, my current boyfriend is  of a different nationality than mine. 

So what did being born on August 12, 1988 at 8:00am in the city of Camaguey, Cuba mean in terms of a career. With Gemini and Jupiter in House 10, the house of career, I found that my character is geared to communicate so professions which involve the internet, specialized information, writing, books, magazines, news, reports, and statistics are appealing. Jupiter makes me inclined toward the Jupiterian vocations, those that educate and inspire others to a greater understanding such as; professors, university lecturers, teachers of higher wisdom, philosophy teachers, and the realms of literature. I found that I was very much interested in these types of careers, I already knew that whatever I did would involve writing, but I had never considered teaching perhaps because of the stigmas associated with it today– “those who can’t do teach.” Today, I’m much less interested in stigmas and much more interested in having a fulfilling career that is in harmony with who I am and that will make a difference in people’s lives. 

If your curious about you own birth chart and what it says about your career path, or any of the other 11 aspects, get a hold of your birth certificate find the exact time and location of your birth and go to this website http://astro.cafeastrology.com/cgi-bin/astro/natal. Here you’ll get a detailed report of all the planets and zodiac positions and what it means. For specific information about your career, profession, and talents look at: 

1.) The North and South Lunar Nodes: these are important to consider in a career analysis since this polarity in the chart represents an axis of destiny, what faculties are within you but need to be developed and what  innate quality needs to be disseminated and used freely in pursuit of a profession.

2.) The Ascendant: the zodiac rising at the moment of your birth, not to be confused with the typical horoscope sign of the month your born on. If your were born in August for example, your Sun sign is Leo but depending upon the time you were born you may not reflect all the qualities of a Leo because we appear to be more like our Ascendant sign. The ascendant sign helps describe your motivation to life and therefore what personal traits you can bring to your career. 

3.) The Sun sign: the Sun is symbolic of our identity and what we may be skilled at. As we grow we naturally become more aware of our solar abilities. The Sun sign helps shape the vocation as it hints at what is important to be identified with and what qualities will help us excel.

4.) The Moon sign: the Moon reveals what personal needs are important to satisfy in our career. It can help to identify what basic requirements are necessary for you to be able to enjoy your career. 

5.) House 2: this house is associated with money and the accumulation of assets. In a career sense the 2nd house details our earning capacity,  what skills we’ll use to earn our income and resources. 

6.) House 6: this house symbolizes what is compatible with our nature and what we need in our work to feel fulfilled, therefore less stressed. Traditionally the 6th house describes occupation; it illustrates the routine conditions of the job, the daily responsibilities and activities involved.

7.) House 10: the 10th house is the Midheaven, the highest point on the ecliptic at our moment of birth. This area will suggests the career paths which may be fulfilling and lead to success, it also indicates what we want to achieve and where we need to strive for authority. 

Hopefully this astrological consideration of your career potentials has helped you reflect on a fulfilling career path and remember —

Every man has is own vocation; his talent is his call”

– Ralph Waldo Emerson

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Astrology, Metaphysics

Author:raimyd

My name is Raimy, I’m a soul-searching writer and amateur photographer. Creative-guru is a by-product of a deep creative passion for personal and spiritual growth.

Subscribe and Connect

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

16 Comments on “Your Birthdate: A Guiding Compass to Your Calling”

  1. January 21, 2013 at 5:49 pm #

    i try to learn but my moon (gemini) and sun (sagitarius) seem to sum me up perfectly 🙂

    • January 21, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

      I always thought there was some truth in astrology, worth a look-see. Moon in gemini makes one inclined to write.

      • January 21, 2013 at 6:08 pm #

        yea same with sagi lol, only problem is, sagi being kinda like a horse i never quite finish one patch of grass before starting on the next 🙂
        i gather the moon is who you are, and the sun is what’s perceived of you?

  2. January 21, 2013 at 7:43 pm #

    that’s kind of how I feel, I’m always starting one thing and suddenly jumping to the next… I don’t fight it anymore its who I am. The moon speaks more of our internal world, like emotions and personal needs. The sun speaks more about the outer world, how we act.

  3. February 2, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

    I truly believe there is alot of truth in astrology, I just visited the site you recommended and WOW is all I can say, it’s a little un nerving actually. Thanks for posting this!!!

    • February 3, 2013 at 8:46 am #

      That’s what I said when I found out about it! If you get a chance take a look at your south and north node signs. It says a lot about who you are and how you’re supposed to develop in this lifetime. Like for me it said I’m I was born Virgo but I need to become more pisces… i.e I was born super critical and I need to become more compassionate and relaxed. Its pretty interesting.

      • February 3, 2013 at 8:51 am #

        I will, I was blown away at how accurate this was, thanks for the info and I’m really enjoying your site.
        Angie

      • February 3, 2013 at 8:54 am #

        Thanks Angie! I needed that encouragement, the start off is alway scary.

      • February 3, 2013 at 8:56 am #

        You’ll be great!! or should I say “are”. 😀 I shared a link to your blog this morning on fb. I hope you get many more readers!!!!!

      • February 3, 2013 at 9:00 am #

        Thank you, I really appreciate your support!

      • February 3, 2013 at 9:08 am #

        😀

  4. March 23, 2013 at 1:48 pm #

    More Raimy-D. fun. My birthday is also in August on the 17th. I read through what it said and am not sure I buy it, but it is interesting to do. I am looking for and grateful for all of the guidance I can get. 🙂

    • March 23, 2013 at 1:50 pm #

      Here is the description: Short description:

      He is masterful, likes authority, aspires towards an ideal. He likes to give advice. He is honest, frank, loyal, open and sincere.

      Weaknesses: pride, vanity, arrogance, presumption and disdain of others.

      • March 24, 2013 at 11:16 pm #

        I think the first description is pretty accurate, from what I know about you 🙂 I do not see the weaknesses as clearly though. Did you read the part about vocation?

      • March 25, 2013 at 8:14 am #

        I saved it and am still reading through it, I said it somewhere else, the more I read the more eerie it is!

    • March 24, 2013 at 11:15 pm #

      Did you put your exact time of birth? I thought mine was pretty accurate, although I did further research outside of the short description they provide. If you look up each aspect individually on google you’ll get a lot more insight, although this takes quite a bit of time. I think astrology is pretty fun and interesting.

Leave a Reply

L i m i t l e s s S k i e s

The moment we give in to prejudice, we stop living.

The New Divine Humanity

L' Aura Pleiadian

FaithDream's Inspiration

Where dreams really do come true.

Poetic musings

A way to put my thoughts into words... May be I am just talking to myself...may be aloud...These are my thoughts in a poetic form, which are very much a part of me and which makes me what I am...

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

INFJoe

I'm an INFJ joe amid extroverts, sensors, thinkers, and perceivers, and still trying to come to terms with it on a daily basis.

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

