Recover your Inner Sense, Recover the Original Face

third eye

A great philosopher once said “just be what you are and don’t care a bit about the world, then you will feel a tremendous relaxation and a deep peace within your heart.” This is what Zen people call the Original Face- relaxed, without tension, without pretensions, and without hypocrisies. Sadly, I can only imagine how liberating this must feel for I’ve yet to free myself from the opinions of others. I have a secret and admitting is slightly  EMBARRASSING, but…

I have a secret obsession with Facebook likes. I depend on people’s opinions. I have depended on people’s opinions so much that I lost all track of my inner sense, my intuition, my sense of self. Though I may be one of very few people to admit it, this childish need for instant feedback is actually becoming a generational defining trait. This is a generation that is all about numbers; how many likes, how many friends, how many connections, how many followers. Numbers make people feel that they must be right, they cannot be wrong if others are with them. What then when you are alone, how will you know if you are valid?

External validation is good, sometimes a little recognition of one’s work goes a long way, only when we allow it to be our primary source of endorsement does it become a problem. Nothing eats away at your self-confidence and ability to just be yourself than being wildly influenced by people’s opinions. But..what if we start looking inward for approval and learn to trust our self again?

This is what recovering our inner sense is all about, feeling more and thinking less. Listen to your intuition, trust it and it will slowly become stronger.  Albert Einstein once said that the only real valuable thing is intuition. I think what he meant by this is that there is a spiritual reality to ourselves that isn’t available to the 5 scientifically valid means of perceiving reality- sight, hearing, smell, touch, and taste.

Building self-trust comes through developing our 6th sense, intuition. Then follows confidence overhaul- total freedom from outside opinions. Luckily, we do not have to become zen masters to gain a little intuitiveness, a few changes in perception might just do. The experts suggest learning to feel things and think things in a calm matter. Intuition is developed when you reflect in self-thought so take time daily to sit quietly and let go of thoughts that cause stress and worry.

One of my favorite ways is to lay down in bed, focus on the space between the eyebrows, the third eye, and visualize the color indigo, which is associated with spiritual attainment, self-mastery and wisdom. This area is associated with psychic energies, focusing on it while meditating can help remove confusion, indecision, and increase the ability to see clearly.  If your experience is anything like mine, you’ll drift into sleep and wake up feeling fully rested and energized. I urge everyone to try it at least once, if not more intuitive at the very least you’ll feel super relaxed.

Let me know how it goes, leave a comment… Remember feel more, think less!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Meditation, Philosophy

Author:raimyd

My name is Raimy, I’m a soul-searching writer and amateur photographer. Creative-guru is a by-product of a deep creative passion for personal and spiritual growth.

Subscribe and Connect

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Recover your Inner Sense, Recover the Original Face”

  1. January 24, 2013 at 11:52 pm #

    This is great and I really like your points about society living by numbers nowadays – so true. I would also add – in order to get away from that need for external validation, do what a lot of people are starting to do – a social media break. Really helps with getting mindful and seeing what surrounds you. Second thing would be to practice loving self care – this is how you’ll get the validation you need without worrying about other peoples opinions. Good luck:)

    • January 25, 2013 at 1:10 am #

      Thanks for sharing your insights, loving self care is something I need to practice more for sure!

Leave a Reply

L i m i t l e s s S k i e s

The moment we give in to prejudice, we stop living.

The New Divine Humanity

L' Aura Pleiadian

FaithDream's Inspiration

Where dreams really do come true.

Poetic musings

A way to put my thoughts into words... May be I am just talking to myself...may be aloud...These are my thoughts in a poetic form, which are very much a part of me and which makes me what I am...

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

