Authentic Living

Authentic living

My biggest fear in life is failure. Ironically, it is because of this fear that I’ve actually failed. Failed at trying anything worthwhile, failed to make progress in life, and failed to live authentically.

I could blame my meaningless existence on many external circumstances, but I’d rather own up to my own faults and finally liberate my true self from the false living that is living out of fear.

I choose emancipation through authentication.

What is Authentication: 

Authentication is the act of expressing the truth of who you are. It is an attempt to realize your full potential in this world by discovering your unique self and acting in accord with this self even at the risk of criticism and dissent.

Does a true self even exist?:

This is probably one of the most ancient questions in philosophy, all I know is that the suffering I experience when I feel I’m not being true to myself is very real. So like Socrates affirmed a trillion years ago I say yes, there is a true self and we discover it through self-awareness. You cant very well be authentic without knowing who you really are. Without self-awareness there is no authenticity.

What is self-awareness:

Self-awareness has a bit of a negative connotation, usually associated with being fixated on a personal flaw, but in reality self-awareness is what makes discovering your true self possible. Self-awareness is NOT for the weak. You have to be willing to be vulnerable and open to rejection. You have to be willing to evaluate nearly everything you do. You have to be willing to get rid of the self-image you’ve caked on over the years– in essence eliminate the ego. Most importantly, you have to be willing to accept yourself entirely; the good, the bad, and the contradictions.

This is what yields true knowledge of yourself, your motives, emotions, preferences, and abilities.

What are the tools of self-awareness:  

There are spiritual traditions like meditation, which allows you to view you inner self with detachment and without objectifying.

There are also more secular means, one of my favorites is journaling. I like to sit every night before going to sleep and write about my thoughts, experiences, and observations without really thinking too much about the words, just letting it pour unto the page. It is in this brief period of time that I achieve authentic thinking.

Authentic thinking is an activity in which we express our own creative thoughts and personal intelligence without relying on external references. For example, when you sit down to write a school essay you basically shuffle around information gathered during research into an accepted format… this is not authentic thinking, this is just arranging and rearranging words. Journaling is authentic thinking in that it requires self-authorship which in turn requires authentic self-knowledge.

What is the value of authenticity & knowing who you are:

Living life without really knowing who you are is truly inefficient. You take actions that you regret later on, you waste a lot of time trying out different things on for size, and you pretty much are just leaving yourself up to chances. When you truly know yourself life becomes much more productive. You are more likely to realize your true potential in this world because you’ll know  exactly who you are and what your abilities are.

Living authentically is living a life that is in harmony with who you are and what you value most- it’s true happiness.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Philosophy, Positive Psychology

Author:raimyd

My name is Raimy, I’m a soul-searching writer and amateur photographer. Creative-guru is a by-product of a deep creative passion for personal and spiritual growth.

Subscribe and Connect

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

9 Comments on “Authentic Living”

  1. January 23, 2013 at 2:55 am #

    So true…

  2. January 23, 2013 at 2:56 am #

    … Finding the real me and the real you is the best thing anyone could be or do

    • January 23, 2013 at 2:59 am #

      Cheers to that! 😉

  3. January 28, 2013 at 10:43 pm #

    There is so much here that I can comment on. I understand exactly what you are saying, I think. Basically, I have come to many of the same conclusions. Breaking down the ego and looking at who I am and what I am really capable of. Evaluating yourself honestly is the most difficult thing you can do. On journaling, read my post from yesterday, it was about my notebook which is my constant companion, I find ideas there, and often myself. If that makes sense. Thank you for writing this. It adds clarity to my thoughts.

  4. February 11, 2013 at 6:22 pm #

    Just digging back through some of your “old” posts here, Raimy, and loving them. This one especially gets me thinking. I’ll be I’ll be referring to this on my blog in the future. Thanks!

    • February 12, 2013 at 9:54 am #

      Thanks Rebecca, I’m glad I can help out in any way.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Robert JR Graham » Thoughtfulness - February 28, 2013

    […] Authentic Living […]

  2. Women’s Joy Circle: Living an Authentic Life | truebeautyalways - March 12, 2013

    […] Authentic Living (creative-guru.com) […]

  3. Audacity: dare to strut your stuff | Creative-Guru - March 26, 2013

    […] Authentic Living  […]

Leave a Reply

L i m i t l e s s S k i e s

The moment we give in to prejudice, we stop living.

The New Divine Humanity

L' Aura Pleiadian

FaithDream's Inspiration

Where dreams really do come true.

Poetic musings

A way to put my thoughts into words... May be I am just talking to myself...may be aloud...These are my thoughts in a poetic form, which are very much a part of me and which makes me what I am...

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

INFJoe

I'm an INFJ joe amid extroverts, sensors, thinkers, and perceivers, and still trying to come to terms with it on a daily basis.

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

