Confessions of a Soul-Searching Blogger

my truthsBlogging on self-discovery has got me wondering if my search for authenticity is authentic at all. I doubted myself last night- is what I’m doing significant, does it have any real substance? I made a pledge to myself, if I am going to be preaching authenticity then I need to embody authenticity with every fiber of my being. In the spirit of full blown, all out, unrestrained honesty here is the truth about why I am blogging:

Reason #1: I blog because I want to prove to myself that 5 years studying Rhetoric and Writing was not a complete waste of my time and money.

Reason #2: I blog because I want to develop my writing skills, and in the process get some external acknowledgment.

Reason #3: I blog because I want an online presence, maybe I’ll get lucky and land a cool job out of this.

Reason #4: I blog because deep inside I feel that I have no identity, this blog is a way that I can label myself and find some meaning. I’m not proud about the labeling part, this is exactly what I want to avoid, but I hope that if I keep writing eventually I’ll find my voice, my truth, my self.

Then I asked myself, is there any noble reason at all for me to be cluttering the web with  my pretentious attempt at authenticity?

Here is my truth:

Without exceptions, I believe that everyone should adopt a creative means to find their true self, to become fully self-aware of their existence, to become Enlightened.

Why do I care so much that people find their true selfs?

I care because people who are aware make the living experience here on Earth a heck of a lot more enjoyable. Enlightened people create the world they want to live in, they contribute beauty, goodness, and betterment to the human condition. 

I’ve met so many cruel, offensive, and just plain nasty people in this world. Seemingly in a perpetual state of hatred and anger, they can’t or don’t know how to live a blissful life. I think a lot of this unhappiness springs from an inability to live one’s life according to who we really are. The accountant who should have been a poet, the mechanic who should have been a doctor, or the engineer who should have been a guitar player. Living without acknowledging one’s true self can drive anyone to bitterness. I believe that the solution to most of this unhappiness is self-knowledge.

There are many paths to enlightenment, and I would like to share with the world some of the creative means of self-discovery I’ve bumped into during my search for truth and hopefully inspire others to take a little time out  of their hectic days to find themselves.

I welcome everyone to share their experiences here, their thoughts on the matter. But please remember negativity does not help anyone. May we all find the meaning of our experience, may we all find bliss.

‎”If every 8 year old in the world is taught meditation, we will eliminate violence from the world within one generation.”  ~ Dalai Lama

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Blogging, Life, Truth Moment

Author:raimyd

My name is Raimy, I’m a soul-searching writer and amateur photographer. Creative-guru is a by-product of a deep creative passion for personal and spiritual growth.

Subscribe and Connect

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

12 Comments on “Confessions of a Soul-Searching Blogger”

  1. January 28, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

    Hi I just bumped into your blog and am so glad I did. I have been on a journey myself, finding that awareness came to me slowly, like it was waiting for me to catch up and understand. You said it best on this page.
    “I care because people who are aware make the living experience here on Earth a heck of a lot more enjoyable. Enlightened people create the world they want to live in, they contribute beauty, goodness, and betterment to the human condition. ”
    I don’t think there is a better reason to write and spread your message. Keep it up! I look forward to reading through your blog and finding out if your education on Rhetoric and writing or not. Thank you for sharing, I am sure you will get a cool job from all of this work. You have my recommendation.

    • January 28, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

      I’m truly very flattered, thank you for visiting and commenting. I’m looking forward to sharing in our self-discovery journey.

  2. January 28, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

    I see I made a mistake on the second to last line, it should read, Keep it up! I look forward to reading through your blog and finding out if your education on Rhetoric and writing was wasted or not. I am a perfectionist.

    • January 28, 2013 at 10:26 pm #

      Oh dont worry I do this all of the time!

  3. January 30, 2013 at 2:50 pm #

    Beautiful, Raimy. I honor your vision of a better world through creativity. “Without exceptions, I believe that everyone should adopt a creative means to find their true self, to become fully self-aware of their existence, to become Enlightened.” Thank you for raising the consciousness and the joy in the world with your posts. {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

    • January 30, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

      I know I probably would have found everyday gurus eventually, but thank you so very much for stopping by today and making this possible sooner rather than later. I’m definitely on board for b4peace.

  4. February 7, 2013 at 6:45 pm #

    I love this post – it is so honest and thought-provoking. I especially love your line, “Living without acknowledging one’s true self can drive anyone to bitterness.” Excellent. And so, so true.

    • February 7, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

      You probably have seen this while career coaching, some people are just doing what they are not really meant to do. I hope I find whatever it is I’m meant to do, hope you can help!

  5. February 10, 2013 at 3:56 pm #

    Oh, Raimy, I totally get where you’re coming from with reason #4. I have felt similarly and am also in search of my Self and my voice. Thank you for your honesty and authenticity – I know it’s not always easy. Many blessings to you in your search and all your endeavors! Would it be all right with you if I linked to you from my blog?

    • February 10, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

      It’s comforting to know that I’m not alone in this search for the authentic self. I’m so glad we found each other and yes definitely link away, I’m so down for sharing in our knowledge and ideas and linking back and forth. So great to have met you.

  6. April 1, 2013 at 3:25 pm #

    I really enjoyed this post – it’s pretty much how I feel about life, so you are speaking my language here! I particularly liked your statement, “May we all find the meaning of our experience, may we all find bliss.” Awareness is a big deal for me, too. I’ve noticed those who have made at least an attempt toward self-awareness are also more kind in general. Great post!

    • April 1, 2013 at 7:29 pm #

      Thanks Ashley, I’m happy that we share similar interest in Awareness. I wish I knew a really cool, hip way to make it appealing to more people because it definitely does make for a kinder, more beautiful world. 🙂

Leave a Reply

L i m i t l e s s S k i e s

The moment we give in to prejudice, we stop living.

The New Divine Humanity

L' Aura Pleiadian

FaithDream's Inspiration

Where dreams really do come true.

Poetic musings

A way to put my thoughts into words... May be I am just talking to myself...may be aloud...These are my thoughts in a poetic form, which are very much a part of me and which makes me what I am...

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

