What Color is Your Life?

Unleash by Raimy Diaz

Unleash by Raimy Diaz

Literature on color as a personality indicator is dizzying, it yields over 97,000,000 hits on Google. What could I possibly say about color psychology that hasn’t been said before

Here’s my creative two-cents.

Color is one of the most basic truths about a person. Besides our name, our favorite color is one thing most of us can be certain of. It seems very elementary, but it is insightful about our yearnings and desires. It’s true of my life and it is true of yours.

There was a moment in my life when what I desired most was mental clarity and emotional balance. I had recently graduated from college and was working as an office manager, things were seemingly smooth but I still lacked a sense of accomplishment. I felt hopelessly meaningless and confused until I found and embraced my turquoise life.

It is through turquoise that I first began my journey of self-discovery.

For the longest time my favorite color used to be yellow, the warm color that symbolizes wisdom, optimism and happiness.  It represented how I felt inside until the weirdest thing happened, I started craving blue. I started adding hues of blue to my life through clothing, accessories, and home decor. Little by little yellow started to fade into turquoise.

I had always thought of myself as a warm-colors type of girl, the cool qualities of blue never appealed to me–  this changed dramatically.

I thought for sure this abrupt change in color preference marked some kind of change within me. This sparked my interest in color psychology. I read all the available material I could and found something interesting, changes in color preferences may reflect a unique need that seeks acknowledgement at that moment in life.

I looked up the meaning of turquoise, it said: if  turquoise is your favorite color your deepest need is to create emotional balance in your life, to be able to express your hopes and dreams no matter how idealistic they may be and to make your own way in the world under your own terms.  At that moment I became fully aware of the source of my troubles, I wasn’t living under my own terms mainly because I didn’t know what my terms were.

To know my true self and to spread this passion for self-discovery, these are my idealistic turquoise terms of life.

Through knowing your color you’ll see why some things you have tried in life have worked while others have not, you might even come to understand why some people are easier to get along with while others are not.

Surround yourself with the colors you love, they will encourage you to be true to yourself. Paint a room with your favorite color, wear it every chance you get, show your true colors!

Visit: http://www.empower-yourself-with-color-psychology.com/personality-color.html  for a detailed description of your favorite color’s meaning.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Positive Psychology, The Arts

Author:raimyd

My name is Raimy, I’m a soul-searching writer and amateur photographer. Creative-guru is a by-product of a deep creative passion for personal and spiritual growth.

Subscribe and Connect

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

12 Comments on “What Color is Your Life?”

  1. January 29, 2013 at 6:44 pm #

    As I read this, I was racking my brain, trying to think of what color I am comfortable with. Is there one that is creeping into my life like you describe? Has it been here for awhile unnoticed? I will have to investigate further, I need all of the understanding I can get. Thanks for the interesting post I am now thinking of color, and wondering what that might mean. 🙂

    • January 29, 2013 at 6:49 pm #

      I’m glad you are thinking of color, its little nuances like it that reveal our inner selves. Maybe take a look at what color shirt your wearing now.

      • January 29, 2013 at 6:59 pm #

        Dark blue, covered by a dark blue jacket, and I am wearing blue jeans. I look like a freaqin’ blueberry! What does dark blue say about me. I am not sure I want to know. 🙂

      • January 29, 2013 at 7:38 pm #

        Lovers of blue have a deep need to find inner peace and truth, to live their life according to their ideals and beliefs without having to change their inflexible viewpoint of life to satisfy others.

        Indigo lovers have a need to feel in harmony and at one with the Universe and to be accepted by others as the aware and intuitive spiritual beings that they are.

        I got this from http://www.empower-yourself-with-color-psychology.com/personality-color.html, its a pretty cool site.

      • January 29, 2013 at 8:28 pm #

        That is a bit scary and correct! I have written about all of that before! How to search for inner peace, why honesty is important, and my biggest fear was what other people thought about me. Freaky. I am going to visit that site now.

      • January 29, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

        This just became today’s writing on my blog. Thank you for the inspiration.

      • January 29, 2013 at 11:26 pm #

        haha awesome! I’m always wondering where I’ll get my next inspiration. I’ll be reading your blog to keep ideas coming also.

  2. January 30, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

    This was interesting. I am a purple…big time. 😉

  3. February 5, 2013 at 3:36 am #

    I am definitely a blue. Thank you for such an insighful piece 🙂

  4. thexenophilediaries
    March 15, 2013 at 2:35 pm #

    beautiful piece!

    • March 16, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

      Thanks for taking time to read and comment 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Words can’t do You justice | Creative-Guru - April 6, 2013

    […] 2. What Color is Your Life […]

Leave a Reply

L i m i t l e s s S k i e s

The moment we give in to prejudice, we stop living.

The New Divine Humanity

L' Aura Pleiadian

FaithDream's Inspiration

Where dreams really do come true.

Poetic musings

A way to put my thoughts into words... May be I am just talking to myself...may be aloud...These are my thoughts in a poetic form, which are very much a part of me and which makes me what I am...

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

