Inner Peace

medium_2129936193

 

Lately I’ve been trying to achieve balance between work, blogging & reading, my pets ( 2 dogs and 3 cats), my boyfriend, my friends, my family and my sanity. Modern life is a juggling act and I’ve yet to master the art. My neck aches, my muscles are twisted into stress knots and at the moment I think I’m having a nervous break down.

Practicing peace, as my friend Kozo from everydaygurus.com has suggested, is what’s kept me from pulling out all my hairs these past few stressful weeks. This post is inspired by his B4Peace bloggers movement.

How exactly does one practice peace? Do you meditate, refrain from negative thoughts, do kind deeds, or wave a white flag? There are many different ways to practice, all of which are easier said than done, especially for someone as  high-strung and anxious as myself. However, there is  one particular way to achieve inner peace that always works for me and I share it here with you.

Beauty:

Inner turmoil is the result of unbalanced thoughts and actions. Beauty restores the balance, Beauty restores the peace.

To explain I’ll borrow the words of the famous American genius Walter Russell, The Man Who Tapped the Secrets of the Universe. 

“Beauty is the perfection of rhythm, balanced perfection of rhythm. Ugliness, fears, failures, and diseases arise from unbalanced thoughts and actions. Therefore, one must  think beauty always if one desires vitality of body and happiness.”

When I think beauty I think of nature and all the perfectly coordinated colors in it. The soft blue of the sky, the cotton white clouds, the vibrant green grass, the golden leaves on the ground… Just 5 minutes outdoors and my eyes are new, my breath is deeper, and my body untangles.

When it gets hard to breath, when your eyes are burning, and your neck is stiff, think beauty. Whether it be nature and her colors, a piece of art, that special someone’s smile, your beautiful children, or puppies and kittens– just think beauty.

Leave a comment, how do you attain inner peace?

Bloggers For Peace Award

Bloggers For Peace

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Nature, Philosophy

Author:raimyd

My name is Raimy, I’m a soul-searching writer and amateur photographer. Creative-guru is a by-product of a deep creative passion for personal and spiritual growth.

Subscribe and Connect

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

20 Comments on “Inner Peace”

  1. February 10, 2013 at 3:59 am #

    My cat, animals and grandchildren bring me back into my feelings, my innerself, so I can experience peace again, when my body or mind is in trouble. I’ve also find out that singing a mantra, puts a smile on my face and gives me lots of energy, strenghts and happiness 🙂

    • February 10, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

      Animals and children are the best sources of contentment, I think that’s why I’ve ended up with 5 pets and counting haha, I don’t have any children yet, but I look forward to it. The mantras sound interesting I don’t know much about them, have you written any posts on the subject?

      • February 11, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

        No, I haven’t written about it, but mantra means “the thinking sets you free and protects you”. When you sing it, you only have to know a few words and repeat it during 10 minutes or more. My favorite is “Ek Ong Kar Satgur Pras” and means Lightness of Being. This mantra turns negative into positive and the best thing, it really does. There are different kinds of meaningful mantra’s and children can sing along with you.. maybe the pets too 😀

      • February 11, 2013 at 1:59 pm #

        Ok I’m so going to try this, does it matter how one pronounces it?

      • February 11, 2013 at 2:22 pm #

        You can hear the pronouncements on You toube, you’ll find a lot more mantra’s. Just enjoy the music and singing 🙂

      • February 11, 2013 at 2:26 pm #

        ok I will!!! thanks so much.

  2. February 10, 2013 at 5:06 am #

    … I totally agree Beauty wise. I was really tired from work just before Christmas and then somehow had managed to jam the Christmas ‘break’ into a non-stop ‘tour’ traveling by plane, train and automobile and ending with working on New Years Day at 6am after 1 hours sleep…………… To cut a long story short(er). I got off the plane at my first ‘pit-stop’ and went straight to see one of my best friends who is a beautiful person. If I had gone home I probably would have slept for 2 days, but being with him we just spent our time noticing the beauty around us from the simplest things – we literally ‘listed it off’ almost without realizing what we were doing: The beautiful buildings outside the window, the view, the painting on the wall, the wallpaper, the pillows, the food, the lighting, the wind, the river boats, the people in the street, pictures drawn by kids in the estate agents, the books…. the list goes on.
    I’ve never felt happier…

    I think it should be a lesson in schools as far too often kids pick up the negative outlook on life from their parents and peers….
    I remember being at school – I must have been about 13 and I was quite happy. I had lots of friends, my school was beautiful, the teachers were great, my weekends were great. Life was bliss. I asked one of my good friends ‘what’s up?’ one day when she looked sad. She said ‘I’m depressed’ – I’d heard the word before but didn’t really understand its meaning… but it was like I dangerously tasted those syllables on my lips and it became a sort of ‘cool’ thing to say… (she was a very ‘cool’ friend’) so I went straight home and looked the word up in the dictionary and became fascinated with it. Such an odd memory….

    • February 10, 2013 at 2:25 pm #

      Wow! You are so lucky to have been able to experience such wonderful sites and to be able to share it with a beautiful person that you care about. I could picture it in my mind as I was reading your words, it sounded like a scene out of a movie. With all the beauty that surrounds us, it makes me wonder how come there are depressed people, how come people choose to wallow in bitterness and darkness. Why? if you just open you eyes and look around for a minute you wouldn’t need that prozac. Thanks for sharing this was lovely.

  3. February 10, 2013 at 6:13 am #

    brilliant question, i find it extremely difficult to meditate or empty my mind, instead i listen to some hippy hypnotic music such as Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Sun (Pompeii version) while sober or stoned, or a long dog walk or long bike ride.
    I don’t expect to find true peace within material life, rather i try to find reasons to be grateful.
    Beauty is everywhere, within each of the five senses, and without them;
    The taste of clean water, smell of wet grass, the touch of a loved one, sound of a child playing, sight of the stars and moon.

    Beauty may be finding a pattern within something previously thought of as chaotic.

    • February 10, 2013 at 2:18 pm #

      I wish I could see the world through your eyes for a day, it must be dreamlike! “Beauty within the five senses” – this should be like on a quote poster, I couldn’t agree more. Thanks for stopping by and for the lovely comment.

  4. February 10, 2013 at 6:25 am #

    afterthought
    the most beautiful thing i can conceive is truth, even if it is unwanted.

  5. February 10, 2013 at 7:53 am #

    Nice post. I wrote about searching for inner peace awhile ago. I will include the link. It was awhile ago, but might be worth reading. I think that your connection back with beauty is a good idea. And if it works for your then clearly that is a good path to pursue. I feel the same sometimes, too much stuff happening. Yesterday in fact I was experiencing being stuck in the snow. Literally stuck and was digging myself out, wondering what I was supposed to learn from this. Freezing my butt off in a blizzard. It is easy to be peaceful when everything is pleasant, and not so easy in the storm. The lesson, I eventually got out, people came and helped. In the end, when your stuck, help will come and you will get out. Thanks for the great thoughts Raimy hope you have a Sunday full of inner peace.
    http://www.jonathanhilton.com/philosophy/a-path-to-inner-peace/

    • February 10, 2013 at 2:05 pm #

      Thank you Jonathan, it’s been very peaceful thus far mainly because I’ve chosen to practice peace consciously. I’ve never been stuck in snow, but that sounds terrifying, I’m so glad there were people there to help. Thanks for reminding me that there is always a helping hand around the corner, it’s great perspective to live by. Hope your your weekend ends on warmer notes. 🙂

  6. February 10, 2013 at 9:46 am #

    Love this, Raimy. I love how you give us one specific technique that works for you. I love how you introduced me to a new writer that I, again, had never heard of. I love the idea of finding beauty under stress. Your post reminds me of another blogger for peace’s post on the Fibonacci sequence in nature. You might want to link to her. http://thetemenosjournal.wordpress.com/2013/02/07/the-fibanacci-way/
    This is a wonderful posting for peace. Thank you. {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

    • February 10, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

      Thanks Kozo I’m glad you enjoyed it. I stopped by The Tenemos Journal and wow, thanks so much for referring me to her post.

  7. February 10, 2013 at 3:49 pm #

    A doer by nature, I can empathize with yours and everyone else who’s shared similar opinions in terms of the challenge of sitting still and quieting the mind. I’ve found the best way for me to flip that imbalance around is through the expression of genuine gratitude – and being outside (particularly in the sunshine) does me wonders as well! Thanks for sharing!

    • February 10, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

      Hi Jess, thanks for sharing your insights on inner peace. I love sunshine also, its like recharging the batteries. Gratitude is the best attitude, I can’t feel lack when I sit back and think about all the things I am grateful for.

  8. February 21, 2013 at 7:29 pm #

    Thanks for the great article..

    • February 23, 2013 at 10:30 am #

      Thank you for reading! I’m sorry about the delay in response, somehow your comment landed in my spam folder.

Leave a Reply

L i m i t l e s s S k i e s

The moment we give in to prejudice, we stop living.

The New Divine Humanity

L' Aura Pleiadian

FaithDream's Inspiration

Where dreams really do come true.

Poetic musings

A way to put my thoughts into words... May be I am just talking to myself...may be aloud...These are my thoughts in a poetic form, which are very much a part of me and which makes me what I am...

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

INFJoe

I'm an INFJ joe amid extroverts, sensors, thinkers, and perceivers, and still trying to come to terms with it on a daily basis.

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

