Live a Genius Life

Geniuses

“Mediocrity is self-inflicted. Genius is self-bestowed.” – Walter Russell 

I used to think I was doomed to a life of conformity; the 9-5 job, the mortgage, the car, the stress, the slow death of my soul. What else could I aspire to, the daughter of a poor man, a public education, an introvert lacking all the right connections- is there hope for me?

I’d like to think there is! There is hope for me and for all us who are stuck in the barren existence that is wake-work-sleep.

“I believe sincerely that every man has consummate genius within him. Some appear to have it more than others only because they are aware of it more than others, and the awareness or unawareness of it is what makes each one of them into masters or holds them down to mediocrity.”

These are the words of Walter Russell, I discovered them recently. Learning about his life awakened me and expanded the limits of my imagination beyond belief. In the hopes that it will do the same for you, I share briefly his life and philosophy.

The life of Walter Russell was genius, it exalted the human condition through the fields of music, art, sculpture, philosophy, and science. It is hard to believe that Russell barely had an elementary education, at the age of 10 he was taken out of school and put to work. This didn’t make him bitter, he felt fortunate that he was able to escape the “encyclopedic educational system of information-cramming and memory-testing.” Instead, Russell used his precious youth to find out the secret mysteries of his inner Self. His whole life he used in the search for the real Self and the relations of this real Self to the universe.

He produced more work than 5 average men could ever dream of accomplishing in their lifetimes. He was esteemed by many greats of the world such as Theodore Roosevelt,  King Albert of Belgium, Thomas Edison, and many others

In a marble palace atop a mountain in Virginia, he devoted the end of his days to the arts, philosophy, and science for “the betterment of human relations and for the unfoldment of the inherent genius which lies within every man.”

The Secret of  a Genius Life:

There are innumerable things we can learn from Walter Russell’s life, but I fear that time is of the essence. In his condensed words, here is the secret of his life:

“I have found out that the real essentials of greatness in men are not written in books, nor can they be found in the schools. They are written into the inner consciousness of everyone who intensely searches for perfection in creative achievement… that comes about through 5 things: humility, reverence, inspiration, deep purpose, and joy.”

1.) Humility:  Get rid of the ego. No great man wise-cracked his way into greatness. Until one learns to lose one’s self he cannot find himself.

2.) Reverence: Look reverently, look kindly inward into yourself, you will be amazed at what you will find, be alone long enough to get thoroughly acquainted with yourself.

3.) Inspiration: flashes of inspiration comes only to those who plug into the universe and become harmonious with its rhythms, the electric plug which connects you is desire.

4.) Deep purpose: successful men have learned to multiply themselves by gathering thought-energy into high potential and using it in the direction of the purpose intended. Each man sets his own limitations in accordance with his own desire.

5.) Joy: If you have no joy or happiness in your work, you will fatigue. He who cultivates that quiet, unobtrusive ecstasy of inner joyousness can scale any heights and be a leader in his field, no matter what that field is.

I always thought that what set average apart from exceptional people was the ability to find the authentic Self and to manifest it wholeheartedly. After reading about Russell I have become even more convinced of it and thus I continue my creative soul searching journey for a better life. I hope that you are at the very least a little more intrigued about this inner Self and are inclined to embrace a more creative life.

If you are interested in reading more about Russell, I recommend The Man Who Tapped The Secrets of The Universe by Glenn Clark, this excellent book is where I got most of this information from.

Please share your views on soul searching. Have you found your authentic self? If so, how did you go about it or how are you going about doing this?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Philosophy, The Arts

Author:raimyd

My name is Raimy, I’m a soul-searching writer and amateur photographer. Creative-guru is a by-product of a deep creative passion for personal and spiritual growth.

Subscribe and Connect

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

9 Comments on “Live a Genius Life”

  1. February 12, 2013 at 8:06 am #

    Great writing and thought here. There are a lot of reactions I have. First I have been seeking to cultivate, remember and enjoy my authentic self for some time. I am not sure if I am there yet but at least I have glanced at it a couple of times. I agree that everyone has this within them, we forget because of the events of life, mostly piled on us from outside. Your description of the “typical” life is exactly what I left behind on June 6, 2007. I resigned from my job because it was not making me happy. Friends and relatives thought I was crazy, and probably still do. I was scared to death, I had no idea what I was going to do, I just knew something wasn’t right. You Raimy, are clearly capable of doing anything you want to do. Art, writing, teaching, even quantum physics if that is where your joy takes you. I am a bit jealous of you because you have realized things way earlier on in life than I did, and that gives you a leg up on finding your authentic self and enjoying developing those things. You were wrong in one respect I think, you do have connections, and I feel they run pretty deep. Thank you for sharing this, when I remove all of the should have’s and could have’s of my past that is what is there, as it has always been. Have a great day.

    • February 12, 2013 at 10:01 am #

      Thank you Jonathan for this really inspiring and thoughtful comment. You’ve made me realize a couple things here, one that it is ok to go for the unconventional even if it is a little scary and people aren’t always supportive, and two that I do have connections. You’re so right, during this process I’ve gotten to know really great people such as yourself whom I’ve learned so much from in such short amount of time. so thank you thank you.

      • February 12, 2013 at 10:07 am #

        You are welcome, but it really is me thanking you. Inspiration always comes from your blog. I can’t wait for the next one. Like I said, you are going exactly where you should be going and helping many people along the way. Enjoy the ride.

  2. February 12, 2013 at 7:42 pm #

    Thank you for introducing me to Russell. He sounds like a terrific role model, and the secrets of a genius life are going to have me up thinking all night. Terrific post!

    • February 12, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

      Haha awesome! I’m glad you liked it, he was an amazing person I wish I had learned about him long ago.

  3. February 13, 2013 at 9:41 am #

    Raimy,
    Thank you again for introducing me to a writer that I have never heard of, but certainly can learn from. (I used to think that I was fairly well-read.). I agree with Jonathan above–you are amazing for starting your search so young and you have tons of connections. We are all connected. Once you start cultivating joy and compassion, you connect with the Universe/God. What other connection do you need?
    I love this list of essentials. Thank you for sharing. {{{Hugs]}} Kozo

    • February 13, 2013 at 10:46 am #

      That we are all connected is something I started to realize very recently. I used to think it was me vs them but the more I meet people like you and Jonathan and Russell I realize this was the most foolish way to go about the world. We most definitely are connected and together we can achieve the unbelievable. b4peace 🙂 {{hugs}}

  4. April 9, 2013 at 6:10 am #

    Hi, thanks for sharing

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Audacity: dare to strut your stuff | Creative-Guru - March 26, 2013

    […] Live a Genius life […]

Leave a Reply

L i m i t l e s s S k i e s

The moment we give in to prejudice, we stop living.

The New Divine Humanity

L' Aura Pleiadian

FaithDream's Inspiration

Where dreams really do come true.

Poetic musings

A way to put my thoughts into words... May be I am just talking to myself...may be aloud...These are my thoughts in a poetic form, which are very much a part of me and which makes me what I am...

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

