Rambling- Because it Helps

Ramble by Raimyd

Ramble by Raimyd

Automatic Writing Sample

There has to be more to life, more than this constant self hate, unhappiness, anger, constant disappointment, stress, worry, chest pains, anxiety, frowns, breakouts, discomforts, pain in my neck, ill-health, negative, bad mood, terrible day, wasting away, untalented, uneducated, lack of value, insignificant, depression, trivial, anguish, uncreative, Specter of a Life.

How is this living, can someone put me out of my misery.

What happened to joy, ecstasy, peace, love, beauty, friendship, honesty, art, comforts, wealth, health, purpose, authenticity, positive thinking, perfection, happiness, miracles, smiles, complete relaxation, freshness, clean air, bicycle rides, quietness, aloneness, meditation, LIFE.

Where did I get off, where do I get on?

Automatic Writing Exercise

If it sounds a little on the dark side, it’s because it is. I was having a terrible day at work today and I decided to pour all these negative thoughts unto paper. As most other bloggers, I get inspirations from my daily life. Today, automatic writing brought me a little relief so I share it with you.

Automatic writing, similar to automatic drawing, happens when you sit with a pen, pencil, or even a feather and just start writing without conscious thought whatever comes to mind. Some people seem to think it is a way to connect with your higher self and messages are revealed in the process. You can start by writing a question that’s been on your mind and then just start scribbling away, somewhere in there an answer is supposed to be revealed.

I don’t promise a life-changing revelation, but I do promise that you will feel relief, clarity, and openness to more creative ides.

Every writer hits a brick wall, every person encounters a fork in the road. Indecision is anguish, not knowing what to do with one’s life is misery. This is why creative-guru came to be, as a way to find my Self and to help others who are also struggling to find meaning in their existence.

Because there is meaning and there is nothing more fulfilling than finding it, please ramble. Ramble  because it helps unclog your mind, because it helps clear it of self-imposed clutter, because it helps get to truth.

Have you tried automatic writing before? What are your thoughts on this creative process?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Blogging, Meditation, Musings

Author:raimyd

My name is Raimy, I’m a soul-searching writer and amateur photographer. Creative-guru is a by-product of a deep creative passion for personal and spiritual growth.

Subscribe and Connect

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

25 Comments on “Rambling- Because it Helps”

  1. February 18, 2013 at 7:55 pm #

    i delete my auto writings unless they are poetic 🙂 a rhyme is harder to remember than constant thought 🙂 but it’s good to write them anyway as they sometimes lead to something larger. the deleting or throwing away of the writing can be like a release aswell.

    • February 19, 2013 at 10:42 am #

      So for you it’s basically like a warm-up exercise and a form of release before writing your poetry. That’s pretty cool. I’ve heard people who say they burn their thoughts afterwards, it seems liberating I’ll try something like that next time.

      • February 19, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

        ye

      • February 19, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

        ye, i must admit i’ve found a couple of remaining autowritings, they were so close to my idea of prose or the perfect philosophy but somehow remained incorrect or untrue. it upsets me that i cant articulate the thoughts sometimes.
        i think my autowriting comes after the poem, maybe if i think that the poem didnt Hit the nail on the head, then maybe prose would be more useful, for myself, prose is like a failed poem until i can hit the heights of the masters.

      • February 19, 2013 at 4:51 pm #

        I wish I could write poetry as beautiful and meaningful as yours. I even bought a book on how to write poems, but sadly for me I think you have to be born with this gift. I’m really glad you share yours with us. Have you heard of Walt Whitman?

      • February 19, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

        Walt Whitman, i’ve jus wiki’d him and will keep an eye out for his work, he sounds fairly similar in his cross-over of spirituality and materiality.
        my Erm post was a trial of public autowriting, after reading yours 🙂
        i bought books to learn the guitar lmao that never got past three chords, but poetry or prose…
        being poor and spotty as a kid meant i poured my time into books, rather than learn any style, i jus absorbed what i read. but that might be in my nex post 🙂

        you have got a way with words Raimy, thats why i follow your blog.

      • February 19, 2013 at 8:15 pm #

        I read your Erm, I liked it I’m curious to learn more about Krishna. If you get a chance read Whitman’s A Hand-Mirror, it’s one of my favorites from him. And thank you so much for your praise, I’m humbled and flattered. I’m never so kind to my own writing and that such a great writer and poet as yourself would even bother to read, let alone follow, my blog- I mean thank you 🙂

      • February 20, 2013 at 4:14 am #

        your positivity helps to cancel out some of my negativity.
        will look for whitman in the charityshops, as im gettin ready for town.
        concerning krishna, the problem with books is that they change over millennia but his work seemed the most humble and truthful.
        krishna apparently means ‘freedom from bondage’ (sanskrit?)
        i only read Bhaktivedanta Prabuphada’s work as other versions feel bastardised or similar.
        The Bhagavad Gita As It Is,
        Raja Vidya, Krsna part 1&2,
        Science of Self Realisation
        these are the books that hooked me.
        and Prabhupada, Your ever wellWisher is a story of the Bhakti Prabhu.

      • February 20, 2013 at 10:04 am #

        Freedom from bondage, *long sigh, I think I will pick up some of these today.

  2. February 19, 2013 at 2:54 am #

    I have tried it when I was young and I remember that it cleared my head after a lot of writing of what was going on in my head. Never thought about it anymore, but it’s worth trying again. It’s a kind of meditation with a pen, to come into your center after you get rid of all what’s happening in your head. Thanks for the tip Raimy 🙂

    • February 19, 2013 at 10:45 am #

      Meditation with a pen, that’s a cool way to look at it especially if your not the sit crossed legged on the floor type of person, like me. Thanks for sharing.

  3. February 19, 2013 at 11:35 am #

    So obviously I am going to try this. It sounds like fun. Your writing sounded awfully dark. Put me out of my misery? Ouch! I am interested to see what happens. Should you focus on a question or just write and let whatever comes out come out? I just reread have a question in mind. Is there a length? I am interested to see how it works. What did your writing reveal about your future? Thanks for another great project to try.

    • February 19, 2013 at 11:49 am #

      Hahaha it was a dark, I let certain things at work get to me yesterday. I think what I found out through my auto writing was that I need a different job lol. Well there really isn’t a right or wrong way to do this, thats the fun part you get to decide how to do it. If you want you can just sit down and write for a few minutes, usually the first few minutes will be your conscious thoughts but after a while you kind of enter into a trance and it should start sounding a little less rational- this is where you want to get. Or you can organize it a little and write questions beforehand that you wish to get answers to. Let me know how you end up doing the auto writing.

  4. February 19, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

    I was curious what is your job that you dislike so much? Raimy-D! (chuckle)

    • February 19, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

      dispatch for a trucking business, it’s not so bad and I shouldn’t complain so much, but it is not what I love and I feel like it sucks my creative energies away.

      • February 19, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

        There is a purpose to everything. Perhaps you are going to learn something that will help you down the line, or you will come in contact with someone who needs to know something you can teach or vice versa or perhaps the lesson is to understand when to leave and pursue your dream. There is always something. Keep the faith my friend, life for you has been meant to be grand! Enjoy the parts of life that you can. I have this thought all the time. Why do I do things that bore me for money? I write for other people about things I do not care about or am interested in. Why? for money number 1 but also for the experience and the practice of writing. Two years ago I worked for a newspaper and used to stress and struggle to get 500 words out. Now I do 500 in ten minutes.
        I guess the moral to this longer than normal answer is, you are doing just fine, the job you have is just a job and you won’t be there forever. Enjoy what there is to enjoy, the people, the schedule, or whatever. I have had too much coffee I think, I just want you to be in a good place. What is your dream job, career, life? If I had a magic wand and could grant your wish? (I don’t so don’t get your hopes up) Raimy-D?

      • February 19, 2013 at 5:00 pm #

        I like your perspective in life, thank you for sharing it with me. I bet there is something I can learn from this job, if only I stopped loathing it so much for a second and just started appreciating all the little bits that I do enjoy, which there are many come to think it of it. Jonathan, you have a way to expand people’s mindsets thanks for that. In terms of a dream career, I don’t have a specific title in mind I just know it will involve a computer, some graphic design, a lot of writing and reading, and sharing valuable information. I wish you did have a magic wand, that would be totally awesome.

      • February 19, 2013 at 5:26 pm #

        Don’t worry Raimy-D you will get there. If that is really what you dream and desire, how can it not come true? I always ask that because I lived much of my life with no real dreams. Faced with the opportunity to do anything I wanted, I had nothing. Keep your dreams in the front of your mind or they may be forgotten. Then you will have to spend time looking for them! I have a lot of faith in you.

      • February 19, 2013 at 7:49 pm #

        Thanks for the vote of confidence, I will keep my dreams in sight. In fact I was just working on my dreamkeeper box, writing down new goals and editing some older ones. I really do appreciate your kind words and will keep them present when I start doubting myself.

  5. February 19, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

    I love the idea of the “morning pages” that Julia Cameron discusses in “The Artist’s Way.” As you probably know, they’re automatic writing exercises to be done first thing every morning, before doing any “real” creative work. I did this practice for over a year and loved it. I should get back to it; thanks for the reminder.

    • February 19, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

      Hmm I have not read The Artist’s Way, but oh I will! Can’t ever have too many books on your reading list right! Thanks for stopping by today and introducing me to yet another awesome book 🙂

  6. February 19, 2013 at 3:46 pm #

    Hi Raimy, great thoughts. I’m a writer, and I think I’ve done “automatic writing” before without really knowing it. Thanks for revealing what was already there! Definitely want to try this out – I really enjoyed reading yours.

    • February 19, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

      Hi Anthony, Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving your comment and yes definitely try it especially when your having one of those days all of us have every now and then when your starting to sound like a wikipedia article. Nice meeting you.

  7. February 19, 2013 at 7:43 pm #

    I used to do a lot of this type of stream of conscious writing. It’s great stuff. Have you heard of Conversatins with God? Interesting free writing there. Keep reading your third paragraph over and over. Lots of good stuff in there.

    • February 19, 2013 at 8:18 pm #

      Kozo, I have not read Conversations with God yet, but I’ll be adding it to my reading list. I always like discovering great new reads, thanks for the recommendation. Thank you for stopping by today, hope your day has been full of peace {{{Hugs}}}

Leave a Reply

L i m i t l e s s S k i e s

The moment we give in to prejudice, we stop living.

The New Divine Humanity

L' Aura Pleiadian

FaithDream's Inspiration

Where dreams really do come true.

Poetic musings

A way to put my thoughts into words... May be I am just talking to myself...may be aloud...These are my thoughts in a poetic form, which are very much a part of me and which makes me what I am...

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

INFJoe

I'm an INFJ joe amid extroverts, sensors, thinkers, and perceivers, and still trying to come to terms with it on a daily basis.

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

