21st Century Spiritual Technology: Use your smart phone smarter

Life has meaning

I refuse to go through life resigned to believe that our time here on Earth is random and completely beyond our control. I trust wholeheartedly that we all have a purpose, a meaning, a calling. Discovering our purpose, who we are and why we are here, is our creative responsibility.

In the search for my purpose I bumped into a book called Something More by soul searching author Sara B. Breathnach. In the book she describes a highly creative vehicle for self-discovery called spiritual illustrated discovery journal.

In essence the spiritual illustrated discovery Journal is a collage, an artistic composition made up of various images, words, and snippets that have made an impression on you for whatever reason.

For collage lovers the traditional process of magazines, scissors, and glue is a day at the park, but who has the time to sit and cut out pictures from a magazine anymore? My 21st century adaptation of the spiritual illustrated discovery journal is the spiritual smart phone photo journal. 

In essence, when you see an image or a something that elicits a reaction instead of cutting it out you’re going to save it to your camera roll. For instance, you’re scrolling through your Facebook newsfeed and you see one of those nifty inspiring

One of my Facebook newsfeed quotes

One of my Facebook newsfeed quotes

picture quotes, you’re not just going to hit like you’re also going to save it to your cameral roll. Or say you’re opening a wine bottle and the image on the bottle just speaks to you, you snap a picture of it

like I’ve done here. Don’t know why I liked it, maybe the sharp contrast, the shape, or the colors but for whatever reason I liked it so I snapped a picture of it.

The next step is saving the picture to a specific album. In Something More, the author suggests collecting images for one month and placing them inside  1 of 9 large manila envelopes labeled as follows:

    • Authentic Success
    • Authentic Style (fashion, beauty, fitness)
    • Return to Self
    • Relationships
    • Spiritual Journey
    • Someday
    • The House of Belongings ( decorating, cooking,
      Wine bottle logo that I liked

      Wine bottle logo that I liked

      gardening)

    • Entertainment
    • Mystery
Iphone photo album

Iphone photo album

For the smart phone version we can create 9 different albums and label them as we please, I like the 9 suggested in the book so I’ll stick to those. If you cannot find a good fit for the snippet place it in the Mystery category, these are the images we’ll have fun trying to psychoanalyze later.

Collect pictures of quotes, sketches, photographs, articles, travel, art, or anything that makes an impression for a month.There is no need to analyze the reason why you liked it. Trust that it’s for a reason, the logic will be revealed after the collecting process. For the moment just get  reacquainted and reconnected with your imagination and intuition.

According to Breathnach there is no right or wrong way to do this exercise– it is entirely intuitive. After the month’s time use your keen psychoanalytic powers to look through each album. Notice if there are any repeating themes, any repeating images, patterns, or messages.

I’m a highly visual person which is why this visual presentation of life was so appealing to me. I’l be doing this exercise for the next month and then I’ll take my best shot at psychoanalyzing my photo journal and sharing it here on creative-guru. I hope you enjoy  the exercise and find new insights about your creative soul.

P.S If you do not own a smart phone or a camera phone just go at it the old fashion way with scissors, glue, magazine clippings, and a notebook. If you are really serious about figuring out your purpose, it’s well worth the time.

Remember trust your instincts, go with your guts!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Life, Philosophy, Positive Psychology, The Arts

Author:raimyd

My name is Raimy, I’m a soul-searching writer and amateur photographer. Creative-guru is a by-product of a deep creative passion for personal and spiritual growth.

Subscribe and Connect

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “21st Century Spiritual Technology: Use your smart phone smarter”

  1. February 24, 2013 at 9:09 am #

    This has been so helpful ! Thank you for such amazing share 🙂
    Regards,

    • February 24, 2013 at 9:49 am #

      Thanks Maryam, I’m glad you liked it. 🙂

  2. February 24, 2013 at 7:25 pm #

    Excellent idea, Raimy, to do this on a smart phone (or any digital format). I always like the “idea” of scrapbooks but find the mess & logistics (now where did I put that glue again???) to be enough to deter me time and again. I can see myself taking snapshots on my laptop and filing them away, though. Love it!

    • February 25, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

      Ohh yea I should add that to my post, any digital format can work for this, I think I’ll edit the post. Thanks for commenting Rebecca 🙂

Leave a Reply

L i m i t l e s s S k i e s

The moment we give in to prejudice, we stop living.

The New Divine Humanity

L' Aura Pleiadian

FaithDream's Inspiration

Where dreams really do come true.

Poetic musings

A way to put my thoughts into words... May be I am just talking to myself...may be aloud...These are my thoughts in a poetic form, which are very much a part of me and which makes me what I am...

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

