So Real I’m On The Verge of Weird

Image by: directionsforpest

Image by: directionsforpest

“Artists who seek perfection in everything are those who cannot attain it in anything.”

 -Gustave Fluabert

There is no such thing as perfect and if you keep waiting for it you’ll never accomplish anything. By far, the most liberating realization I’ve made in life is that I don’t have to wait till I’m perfect to start living.

I don’t need to be a perfect writer to write,

I don’t need to be a perfect dancer to dance,

I don’t need to be a perfect student to learn,

I don’t need to be a perfect artist to create,

I don’t need to be a perfect human to live.

So much time is wasted in the pursuit of perfection. I wish I could recover all the hours squandered stressing about appearing perfect in the eyes of others. In trying to hide my flaws I buried my authentic self so deep beneath rank layers of social preconceptions that I forgot who I really was.  How sad is that?!

If you’re still getting in your own way by striving to be “perfect” then this post is for you.

The Air Balloon Visualization Exercise 

When you are ready to switch directions in life use creative visualizations to veer away from negativity. Visualization is a strong tool for life transformation, using it to create our reality is about as hard as using our imagination. If you can see it, you can be it!

The air balloon visualization is a simple exercise to help exorcise ourselves of “perfection.”

Air balloon ride to imperfectville

Air balloon ride to imperfectville

Picture yourself in this hot air balloon, the only way you’ll make it past the storm and to your destination is if you throw off the excess baggage of “perfection” you’re carrying with you. You’re going to cast off big heavy bags full of your fears, doubts, guilt, judgements, and preconceptions so that your air balloon can soar high above the storm clouds.

Allow your authentic self to soar high by chunking everything that restrains you from being exactly who you are.

Don’t be afraid to express your true self whoever that is. There is nothing more beautiful than an authentic person. They are perfect in their imperfection- they are colorful, lively, and intoxicating.

I always worry about those people who seem to be perfect, that look like they have it all together and never have a bad day, it just seems unnatural. What makes you perfect isn’t that you’ve got it all together, that you have the perfect  relationship, that you are super fit, or that you’re well liked by everyone. No!  What makes you perfect is that you’ve finally found your authentic self and you’re not afraid to show it, flaws and everything.

Anytime I start to coward behind a facade I think about people like Ellen Degeneres, Tina Fey, and Sofia Vergara. To me they are the trifecta of authentic women- funny, beautiful, and smart.

authentic-trifecta

Who’s your Ellen, Sofia, or Tina? Do you look up to anyone who is so awesomely free that they are on the verge of weird? Share your thoughts.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Life, Metaphysics, Philosophy, Positive Psychology

Author:raimyd

My name is Raimy, I’m a soul-searching writer and amateur photographer. Creative-guru is a by-product of a deep creative passion for personal and spiritual growth.

Subscribe and Connect

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

15 Comments on “So Real I’m On The Verge of Weird”

  1. February 26, 2013 at 2:38 pm #

    YOU!! Just the first of many I am sure that will use that. I love the thought of your authentic self, because I believe it is true, and I have never mentioned it to ANYBODY who has contradicted me. They might just be polite or I cherry pick who I share this information with but all seem to understand this concept. I personally felt for years that it wasn’t perfection that I was seeking, but to be looked at as normal. That is how buried my authentic self had become. I think that one of the things I have gotten out of blogging is a nearer and nearer reach toward that authentic self. What that means is that over time more of what I want to say is coming out and less of what I think people want to hear. I write something and publish it, and say what the f#$%k that is what I think and feel, if you don’t like it then don’t read it. A year ago or even six months ago I might have been to fearful to do that. So the long of it is that all artists who stretch themselves out and don’t give a flying fig about what others think are my role models. Like I said. you Raimy-D. Grateful for the thoughts and the forum to vent. 🙂

    • February 26, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

      Jonathan I know exactly how you feel. By blogging I also started getting nearer to my authentic self, my true voice started coming out. I was so afraid of sounding wrong that I started to write like an encyclopedia article, stressing about each word choice, and oh god the grammar! Then like you I realized whatever my style is it is what it is, I can’t be afraid of that. Thanks for venting with me 🙂

  2. February 26, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

    well said, there’s nothing better than imperfection! unless you’re an engineer 🙂
    i don’t want to be perfect, hate walking into sterile environs.

    “where’s your will to be weird?” : Jim Morrison. i don’t advocate his drug use but admire his dare to be different attitude 🙂 i think he was the most free person i’ve ever heard of.

    • February 26, 2013 at 3:25 pm #

      or a neuro surgeon! Thanks for sharing, I dont know Jim Morrison too well, but he definitely looks like a rebel. I always like to read interesting biographies, bet his life was fabulously weird.

      • February 26, 2013 at 3:41 pm #

        ye, his dad was high up in the pentagon or american navy, pending on who you believe, he witnessed a car crash aftermath as a young child n believed the native american’s soul flew into him, the band he helped create is named after a William Blake quote “If the doors of perception were cleansed every thing would appear to man as it is, Infinite. For man has closed himself up, till he sees all things thro’ narrow chinks of his cavern.”
        The Doors.
        he was a poet of immense classical themes distorted by out of mind experiences, My Wild Love is a good example, tho my daughter prefers Hello, I Love You.,
        sorry lol, loving the cd collection a bit tonight.

      • February 27, 2013 at 9:43 am #

        Who wouldn’t lead a weird life being possessed by a ghost and all. That is pretty wild, but the guy did have poetical genius I’m going to have to start listening to his music maybe some will rub off.

      • February 27, 2013 at 9:52 am #

        🙂

  3. February 26, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

    I love this – can’t wait to link to it when we get to perfection over in Career Avoidance 101. This exercise is TERRIFIC. I am going to start using it with my real world students. Seriously! As for who my model of imperfect authenticity is…wow, that’s hard. After the whole Lance Armstrong thing, I feel really jaded about celebrities because I don’t know them well enough to know who they really are (I fully believed Lance was innocent right up to the Oprah interview, and I was a huge fan of his). I know a few people on the Bates faculty who I look up to in this way, but of course you don’t know them so they’re not a great example! But I guess suffice it to say that people who embrace their authenticity are out there and I think they’re awesome. I just wish there were more of them! And wish I could be more like that myself; it’s a never-ending journey/battle for me.

    • February 27, 2013 at 9:51 am #

      Awesome I’m glad you liked the exercise and I can’t wait to read your lesson on perfection. I know how you feel about Lance Armstrong, everyone here in Austin was pretty disappointed as well. It’s so true we can’t ever be sure of who celebrities really are so I guess what I really look up to is their t.v personalities. Yea the world would definitely be a lot more colorful if people would embrace their creative authenticity, I feel like with me it comes in bursts so I’m also working on that.

  4. Viola Lilac Indue
    February 26, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

    I read an author’s advice once about how some writers are too afraid to send out their finished work because they can’t stop rewriting it. I am that way. I sometimes stress about my style, word choice, and grammar too much. This post is eye-opening. Thank you for writing it.

    • February 27, 2013 at 9:54 am #

      Thanks for reading Viola, I’m like that too but slowly I’m learning to trust my inner voice and just go with the flow. It’s pretty scary to do, because of fear of judgment but our style is what makes us unique and different so we have to embrace it and let it show.

      • Viola Lilac Indue
        February 27, 2013 at 1:40 pm #

        You’re right…fear of judgment plays a huge role in why I don’t share my writing… I, too, am learning to embrace my inner voice. Take care.

  5. willowmarie
    April 26, 2013 at 8:20 pm #

    once we put down perfect & pick up real what we create changes, it has soul & I think that makes all difference.

    • April 28, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

      I could not agree more, thank you so much for these words. 🙂

Leave a Reply

L i m i t l e s s S k i e s

The moment we give in to prejudice, we stop living.

The New Divine Humanity

L' Aura Pleiadian

FaithDream's Inspiration

Where dreams really do come true.

Poetic musings

A way to put my thoughts into words... May be I am just talking to myself...may be aloud...These are my thoughts in a poetic form, which are very much a part of me and which makes me what I am...

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

INFJoe

I'm an INFJ joe amid extroverts, sensors, thinkers, and perceivers, and still trying to come to terms with it on a daily basis.

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

