When All You Crave Is Peace And Quiet

in nature

“I love to be alone. I never found the companion that was so companionable as solitude.”                                                – Henry David Thoreau

Constant distractions

Modern Anarchy

No space left to think

No space left to breath

One minute alone

One minute of silence

Is to me worth

All the gold in the world.

Sometimes life gets so hectic that I just tune off and start running on autopilot. It’s just not healthy, we all need a reboot moment from time to time. I cherish the quiet moments for they are few and far between, here are my five

Favorite ways to get away from it all:

  1. Go to the nearest park, walk slowly around the bases of an empty baseball field.
  2. Get in a car and explore the city at night time.
  3. Climb atop the roof of the house, wrapped in a blanket and watch the stars
  4. Take a day off from work and enjoy a morning bicycle ride around the neighborhood.
  5. Make a 15 minute daily vow of silence and keep it!

Creative Ideas Are Welcomed!!! Please share, how do you disconnect from a hectic modern life?

Bloggers For Peace Award

B4peace

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Life, Meditation, Nature

Author:raimyd

My name is Raimy, I’m a soul-searching writer and amateur photographer. Creative-guru is a by-product of a deep creative passion for personal and spiritual growth.

Subscribe and Connect

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

27 Comments on “When All You Crave Is Peace And Quiet”

  1. March 9, 2013 at 12:35 am #

    My favorite way is definitely taking a walk and watching the stars. Sounds very “fantasy-land” in practical life, but very important to keep the sanity in check.
    Luego,

    • March 9, 2013 at 10:59 am #

      Maryam I agree with you 100%, there is nothing better than a night stroll under a starry sky. Thanks for sharing.

  2. March 9, 2013 at 3:33 am #

    a bike ride or walk in the not too far countryside, often in the worst Brit weather, a bit of Pink Floyd or The Doors to help me realise that there’s more to material life than meets the eye, or cheat and smoke.
    Silence is beautiful but those around me mistake it for rudeness.
    i’m lucky enough to probably get 3hours of silence a day, it isn’t meditating but it’s trying to see things as they are:)
    thanks for another thoughtful post 🙂

    • March 9, 2013 at 11:04 am #

      That sounds like having a little slice of paradise in your backyard. One day I would like to live in the countryside, be able to hear birds chirp and the wind rustling through the leaves. Yea what is it about people who misconstrue silence for rudeness?! Thanks for sharing your experience, I could picture it so clearly in my mind, I could almost smell the Brit air. 🙂

  3. March 9, 2013 at 7:21 am #

    My favorite is to sit with my journal in my favorite chair in the house, looking out at the trees of our backyard. I also make a point of going to acupuncture weekly; there’s nothing like laying there with music on and an eye pillow over my eyes (and it’s even better now that our health insurance covers the experience!). I love your idea of climbing on the roof and looking at the stars…I especially crave an experience like that right now, when we haven’t seen the ground (in Maine) since December. Can’t wait until I can even just SIT outside and look at the stars! Thanks for the thought-provoking post.

    • March 9, 2013 at 11:07 am #

      Rebecca thanks for reminding that I shouldn’t take clear skies for granted, I send a little Texas warmth your way. And about acupuncture, that sounds so relaxing!! Do the needles hurt at all?

      • March 9, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

        No, they don’t. Sometimes one will prick a tiny bit, but it goes away immediately. Acupuncture has proven to be so helpful to me, not just in the moment but it has lasting effects, too. Highly recommend it!

      • March 9, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

        cool, I’ve got to try it sometime.

  4. March 9, 2013 at 9:59 am #

    My family numbers 7 people in about 1700 sq ft of house (three of whom are teenagers with one pre-teen), so there is rarely peace and quiet. My time is when I get up early in the morning before anyone else is awake or around and it’s just me with my coffee out on our back patio with the birds and, more often than not, blue sky as my company. 🙂

    • March 9, 2013 at 11:11 am #

      Aaah!! I can almost feel all the restlessness haha. Yea my family is pretty big also and oh so loud. I always wished I had willpower to get up earlier than everyone and enjoy a nice cup of coffee by my lonesome. Instead, I wait for everyone to go to sleep and stay up an extra hour listening to music and reading or writing. Thanks for sharing Jess 🙂

  5. March 9, 2013 at 11:08 am #

    Thanks for the ideas. I think that there are times when being alone are not too bad. Explore the city at night is a bit tough here, there has to be a city to explore first. 🙂 You can always take a walk in the woods I guess. Watching the stars is one of the most thought provoking things you can do, I think. (we have plenty of stars here). Solitude is not always a bad thing, there is a difference between being alone and being lonely. I will now begin my fifteen minutes of mandatory silence. 🙂 Thanks for the great topic.

    • March 9, 2013 at 11:22 am #

      No wonder you come up with so many awesome blog posts when you have the woods in your backyard. I don’t know what it is about trees but they definitely put out more than just oxygen, especially the really old trees they have some kind of wisdom to share. They are so hard to find in the city, your lucky Jonathan. Enjoy your 15 minutes, hope some really creative idea happens to cross your path in that time. 🙂

  6. March 9, 2013 at 11:37 am #

    My favorite way to enjoy silence and think is to sit by a window with a nice view. I agree with the other comment…too many people mistake silence for antisocial behavior. The reality is that we all need to be quiet at some point every day. When a person is constantly talking or bombarded with external stimuli it is impossible to really get to know yourself, to discover what’s really going on inside of you. Unfortunately, a lot of people don’t want to face what’s inside of them…

    • March 9, 2013 at 6:16 pm #

      Catherine thanks for your comment, it’s exactly what I’ve been trying to say in much more concise words. I hope one day more people choose to listen to the call of silence, to sit by a window with a nice view, or under a tree in a nice breeze. 🙂

      • March 10, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

        Amen! 🙂

  7. March 9, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

    I love you sweet and simple post, Raimy! I am linking it to my post today – thanks!
    Here is a post of mine on one of my favorite meditations: http://www.2baware.net/awakening1/awakening-mindflow-and-you-pratiprasava/

    • March 9, 2013 at 6:41 pm #

      Thank you so much for reading and linking. Your post looks insightful, I’m heading over to read it now.

  8. Ian Gudger
    March 11, 2013 at 12:36 am #

    Can so totally relate! Thanks for your post and thanks for blogging 4 peace. 🙂

    • March 11, 2013 at 11:03 pm #

      Hi Ian, thanks for stopping by today 🙂

  9. March 12, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

    What a wonderful post Raimyd. I loved it.

    • March 13, 2013 at 4:20 am #

      I’m so happy you did, thanks for stopping by Athena 🙂

  10. March 19, 2013 at 9:42 pm #

    My favorite way to disconnect from the rat race is to put my 3 year old son to sleep. He holds me by the ears and tells me telepathically that everything is ok. {{{Hugs]}} Kozo

    • March 22, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

      Hi Kozo,

      Its been a while, good to hear from you and thanks for sharing your favorite way to disconnect. I don’t have children yet, so I can only imagine the kind of bond you experience with your son, sounds really amazing. Thanks for sharing.

  11. Amy
    April 7, 2013 at 1:27 am #

    Hi Raimy, Just read your post and I totally agree. I’m a mother of three beautiful children whom I educate from home and I rarely find quiet in my day.I love what I do but I do find that I’m drained and overstimulated by everything going on around me. Silence really recharges my batteries so to speak. There are times that I crave the solitude of stillness so much so that I wake myself up just to have it. This can be tricky when I need my sleep too. Another thing I love to do to recharge my batteries is to either sit inside or outside and just watch the wind blowing through the leaves. Just observing nature and all God’s beautiful creation can be very healing. ~ Aml

    • April 7, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

      Hi Amy! I can’t imagine what home schooling 3 children must be like, but you must be one patient and caring lady 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing your recharging experiences and beautiful words. Time outdoors seems to be an all time favorite recharging activity for many of us. Add a cup of coffee or tea with a notebook and a pen and it’s heaven on earth.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. B4PEACE: HUMANITY i Love YOU – Guerilla Gardener in South Central LA | heartflow2013 - March 9, 2013

    […] When All You Crave is Peace and Quiet (creative-guru.com) […]

  2. Powerless – a Bloggers for Peace post | Becoming a writer - March 13, 2013

    […] Creative-Guru […]

Leave a Reply

L i m i t l e s s S k i e s

The moment we give in to prejudice, we stop living.

The New Divine Humanity

L' Aura Pleiadian

FaithDream's Inspiration

Where dreams really do come true.

Poetic musings

A way to put my thoughts into words... May be I am just talking to myself...may be aloud...These are my thoughts in a poetic form, which are very much a part of me and which makes me what I am...

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

INFJoe

I'm an INFJ joe amid extroverts, sensors, thinkers, and perceivers, and still trying to come to terms with it on a daily basis.

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

