How to reconnect with your Self

“Through me shall the words be said to make death exhilarating,” – Walt Whitman, Poet

Balcones Canyonlands in Lago Vista, TX

Balcones Canyonlands in Lago Vista, TX

Writing is a divine act or so I think. Before I write anything, I wait for divine inspiration. Usually it hits me while dancing, gardening, and more often than not while showering, which is why I keep a little notepad in the bathroom. Blog, meditate, wait for inspiration, blog again– this has been my blogging ritual since I started Creative-Guru, but for the past few days my blogging routine has been stuck in a rut. I’ve been feeling disconnected, stuck in dark a place, where the rays of divine light have not been able to penetrate.

So I put off writing and went for a hike instead. There is no better way to heal our connection to the Divine, the source of all creative endeavors, than to dwell in the authentic beauty of nature.

Not sure if it was all the unpolluted air, the atypical silence, or the shocking beauty up on that hilltop, but out of nowhere I heard a voice. It was feeble, it was faint and it said that I must put my self to death.

I heard how the eulogy should go– here lays Raimy, she was a fearful, selfish, judgmental, and insecure little girl. She thought she knew it all, but she knew nothing, did nothing, and went nowhere.

photo 2

Battle of Canyonland

With this whisper began the battle of Canyonlands, where I fought my ego and pained to put it down.

The ego, the one that wants desperately to be seen, approved, needed, valued, and desired. The ego, the one that binds us to erroneous beliefs about our true essence, keeps us hostage from ourselves, and creates a constant sense of disconnect.

There, upon that hilltop I lay to rest the superficial, distrustful, cynical, pessimistic, distant, unfeeling, and callous part of me. Up on that green hilltop rests in peace a frustrated egomaniac.

This weekend I went on a hike, I don’t know if what I heard was the Divine, but I feel a certain high.

photo 1

Victory is sweet

When you’re feeling completely disconnected from life, uninspired, and not yourself, get your best hiking shoes on. That combination of clean air, natural beauty, and serenity unblocks our connection to ourselves and to all that is Divine.

Do you believe in a higher Creative Power? What do you do when your feeling disconnected from it or from yourself?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Blogging, Life, Musings

Author:raimyd

My name is Raimy, I’m a soul-searching writer and amateur photographer. Creative-guru is a by-product of a deep creative passion for personal and spiritual growth.

Subscribe and Connect

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

12 Comments on “How to reconnect with your Self”

  1. March 12, 2013 at 5:58 am #

    So glad you were able to carve out the space for your time in nature hiking. Usually after about 5 minutes on the trail, I can’t imagine what took me so long to get back to where I needed to be. Lovely view for you!

    • March 12, 2013 at 1:07 pm #

      The view was really beautiful, I feel totally recharged. Where do you like to go hike?

      • March 12, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

        I used to love the mountains of NC, but these days I’m in the low coast lands of SC, so hiking is on a level plane 🙂 Your views reminded me of the great feel of an incline. I haven’t seen the parts of TX that look like your Picture. I just got back from a walk on the beach tonight – recharged too! Peace to you!

      • March 13, 2013 at 4:28 am #

        I’ve never been to NC nor SC, but I hear the nature there is really beautiful. I can’t even imagine how great it must be to live near the beach, thats so awesome. Thanks for sharing Marga 🙂

  2. March 12, 2013 at 11:31 am #

    Great post. As I have mentioned before that ego guy has had his hooks in me and he is a bastard to get rid of. I agree that he definitely keeps you from finding your authentic self, because when that is done, he is dead. It is a scary proposition to get rid of him because he has “kept you safe” for so long. The what if’s and how’s will eat at you just thinking about it. In the end I think I am at a amicable divorce from my ego. I must go a new way and I no longer need him. I trust that what is happening is right and I can handle things from a stand point of honesty and light, no longer from fear and darkness. Great to hear about your walk in nature. Here any walk is a walk in nature. 🙂 It is settling and allows you to think. One of the best things I do for creativity is read other people’s blogs, books, or even watch youtube videos that teach something. True learning is a creative activity, something I never realized as a student or even as a teacher. This creativity is a path to yourself, I think. Anyway, great article. I am continually astonished at your depth of vision for someone at your age. I was just a drunk, immature mess at that time of my life. 🙂 Grateful you got it together because you always help me.

    • March 12, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

      haha divorce is a good way to put it, because yea I dont think we can ever completely “kill” it, we can sort of disengage it. Lol I feel like such an ancient oak some times, because yea people my age are sipping a cold one right about now for Spring Break and I’m over here talking about some psychological malady. It’s funny, but yea I’m with about the lifelong learning. The process is in itself a creative act and you keep your brain forever young, I think you just found the Fountain of Youth 🙂

  3. March 12, 2013 at 5:32 pm #

    I go biking along the river, when the weather is fine and I allow myself to enjoy the view 🙂

    • March 13, 2013 at 4:18 am #

      Sounds really beautiful 🙂

  4. March 12, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

    I absolutely believe in a higher creative power, and love the way Julia Cameron writes about as this force that flows through us and desires creation, in its myriad forms. That said, I also believe we cultivate “the muse” with regular habits, like sitting in a certain chair at a certain time of day every day such that our minds know when it’s time for us to get inspired. (Life coach Martha Beck wrote a column discussing this in the most recent O magazine; she talked about how putting on her writing glasses tells her mind “time to write!”)

    That said, incubation – stepping back like you did on your awesome hike – is a great way to get those creative juices flowing again. I don’t think I do enough of that any more (since becoming a mom), and I appreciate your reminder of its importance. Great post – and glad to hear you’re out of your rut!!!

    • March 13, 2013 at 4:25 am #

      I’m barely making my way to chapter 3 of The Artist’s Way, I really need to sit down with Julia Cameron for longer periods of time. There is so much creative inspiration there. I also have to give disciplined inspiration like you mentioned a shot. Writing sporadically and at whims is probably not as conducive to daily output. Thanks prof 😉

  5. March 12, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

    I completely agree with the need to recharge! I did that for the last few days (I did work a little, but not my “regular job” and it was amazing. I was able to enjoy some sunshine outside, and it did me good. I feel renewed, my relationship with my boyfriend is awesome, and I feel far more creative. Another great post, Raimy!

    • March 13, 2013 at 4:31 am #

      Hi Lisa, it’s been a little while. I’m glad to hear about your time of renewal, it sounds like life is taking a brighter turn. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

L i m i t l e s s S k i e s

The moment we give in to prejudice, we stop living.

The New Divine Humanity

L' Aura Pleiadian

FaithDream's Inspiration

Where dreams really do come true.

Poetic musings

A way to put my thoughts into words... May be I am just talking to myself...may be aloud...These are my thoughts in a poetic form, which are very much a part of me and which makes me what I am...

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

