Talking to yourself: borderline crazy with a hint of genius

talk to myself

I’ve been afraid to admit it, but Self I’m actually really scared. I have this picture in my mind of what kind of life I want to lead and all these amazing things I wish to accomplish, but Self I’m actually really scared that I don’t know how to live the life of my dreams.

How do I leave the past behind? How do I break the cycle? How do I move forward?

Last night I did something I hadn’t done since I was nine years old, I did a little bit of talking to myself.

When I was nine, my mom and dad saw an opportunity to come to America and they took it.  We had no family here and barely knew anyone well enough to call them a friend, but the three of us managed.

My parents worked hard during those time, so when I got home from school I would be home alone for long periods of time. I’m an only child, I had no friends, no relatives, not even a pet to talk to so, I did a lot of talking to myself.

In the loneliest and scariest of times, I kept my own self company and I was fine.

Last night I did a little bit of talking to myself like I used to back then. Not because I’m alone, today my life is blessed with really wonderful people, but because sometimes you just need to have an honest conversation your own self and trust in what you’ve got to say.

At the risk of sounding insane and totally foolish, I share with you last night’s conversation with myself.

First of all Raimy, quit blaming your acculturation traumas and seemingly disadvantaged head start for your obstacles today. You’ve clung on to these excuses for far too long, almost as long as you’ve clung on to your doubts and fears like they are your saviors. Seriously come on you haven’t even stopped once to question them!

So how do you move forward? Simple!

Question everything you’ve ever believed up until now. Time has come to take a hard look at life, to address your own self limiting behaviors in all honesty.

Tell me, what role have you played in keeping yourself from advancing in life, from living your dreams. Answer me this;

1.Where in life are you suffering from addictive behaviors?

2. Is there negative thinking and behaviors causing your energy to scatter?

3. Are the people in your life giving energy or draining it?

Addressing these questions in complete honesty will be the start to making higher awareness and forward movement possible.

Okay self, it was nice chatting with you. I’ll be thinking over these questions tonight and for many nights to come.

Oh Raimy, one more thing. Please do start embracing your fears and doubts so that every situation in your life becomes a learning experience and one step closer to realizing your self.

Okay self I know it won’t be easy, but I’ll try and thanks for the advice.

There you have it, my moment of schizophrenia. If you take one thing away from it please let it be this, listen to your inner voice. Set time aside to talk honestly with yourself, it is an act of trust in yourself and your ability to navigate through life on a more intuitive level.

Have you talked to yourself lately?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Life, Musings, Positive Psychology

Author:raimyd

My name is Raimy, I’m a soul-searching writer and amateur photographer. Creative-guru is a by-product of a deep creative passion for personal and spiritual growth.

Subscribe and Connect

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

16 Comments on “Talking to yourself: borderline crazy with a hint of genius”

  1. March 13, 2013 at 5:30 am #

    Instead of Schizophernic – self seems the most important ears imaginable! Thank you!

    • March 13, 2013 at 2:15 pm #

      Marga, absolutely agree 🙂 Thanks for stopping by today, hope you’re having a beautiful day.

  2. March 13, 2013 at 7:22 am #

    Absolutely I’ve talked to myself lately! That inner voice is my most constant companion and when I can keep it under control, it’s a great ally, too (sometimes it is my worst enemy, to be sure). You’re doing exactly what cognitive therapists suggest people do: 1)hear what they’re telling themselves, and then 2) actively alter those thoughts so that they are productive so that 3) your behavior will change. Start with your thoughts and you’ll have cleared more than half the battle. Sounds like you’re doing just fine by me!!!

    • March 13, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

      It’s good to know that there is some science behind a seemingly cuckoo act and its also good to know I’m not the only one doing it 🙂

  3. March 13, 2013 at 7:54 am #

    I talk to myself, my sister does, so did Mom, and we all got it from Grandma…and she ALWAYS talked to herself. She insisted it was a sign of genius 😉 Those internal dialogues are fantastic for sorting out the contents of your head. 😉

    • March 13, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

      Haha a whole family of self-talkers, that’s awesome!! now how do I convince my family that I’m not crazy 🙂 Thanks for sharing Paula.

  4. March 13, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

    Raimy-D, I have just gotten around to reading this and what a great message as usual. Of course I talk to myself all of the time. I have the same fears that you do, the same. My excuses have been different, but I have had longer to cultivate them. I loved the writing and the concept and it is not strange at all to talk to yourself because we all do it, just some ignore the obvious fact, that we are not alone in there. 🙂 If we were when you come to even a tiny choice in life with a question like, should I go left or right? Should I wear that blue shirt? Mexican or Chinese tonight? Someone or something always answers your question. Who is that?
    This is just the type of thought provoking mental gymnastics I love about your site! Everyone in the world should read it! I am grateful for all of your very unique thoughts and the fact that you share them with the rest of us.

    • March 13, 2013 at 11:18 pm #

      Thank you Jonathan, I’m very flattered and super humbled right now. Thank you for your thought provoking comments as well, yea who the heck is that in there with us? Is it a our higher self, a greater power, our intuition, so many names for it, will we ever know for sure?

      • March 14, 2013 at 10:16 am #

        I think that it is wild that many people go through their whole lives and don’t even notice that something or someone else is answering? 🙂

  5. March 13, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

    I talk to my True Self constantly 😀 It began kind of out of nowehere a few months ago, and while my True Self isn’t perfect (nobody’s is!), she’s less caught up in all the crap and so handy to talk to and get feedback from. Happy chatting!!

    • March 13, 2013 at 11:21 pm #

      Sometimes I wonder if it’s too bold of me to trust this little voice, like you say our true self isn’t perfect, but the time’s I’ve listened to it I’ve been well off. Thanks for sharing your thoughts Jess.

  6. March 16, 2013 at 3:56 pm #

    I always talk to myself. I think it’s quite normal.. at least for me. I can cheer myself up and laugh about stupid things I’ve done, when I’m in conclave with myself, but I also hear that little voice inside of me speaking out loud. It’s very clarifying 🙂

    • March 16, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

      Thanks for sharing, I’m happy to know there are many people talking to themselves. It really is clarifying and also liberating to come clean with yourself and say exactly what you’ve been feeling or trying not to feel. 🙂

  7. Ian Gudger
    March 18, 2013 at 12:24 am #

    Hi Raimyd, I really enjoyed this post. Self-knowledge is so important and I’m with you asking ourselves questions can be so helpful in discovering what is going on below the surface. In my experience, its the stuff below the surface that really matters. 🙂 Thanks for your post.

  8. March 23, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

    All the time…

    • March 24, 2013 at 11:17 pm #

      Glad to hear it 🙂

Leave a Reply

L i m i t l e s s S k i e s

The moment we give in to prejudice, we stop living.

The New Divine Humanity

L' Aura Pleiadian

FaithDream's Inspiration

Where dreams really do come true.

Poetic musings

A way to put my thoughts into words... May be I am just talking to myself...may be aloud...These are my thoughts in a poetic form, which are very much a part of me and which makes me what I am...

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

INFJoe

I'm an INFJ joe amid extroverts, sensors, thinkers, and perceivers, and still trying to come to terms with it on a daily basis.

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

