Are you feeding a drama llama?

drama llama

“A day wasted on others is not wasted on one’s self.” – Charles Dickens

There is someone I know who’s life is a Spanish soap opera- overly dramatic and predictable. This person has mastered the art of drama; enemies, crisis, addictions, and prejudices. They have so much pent up drama that whenever you come near them you can’t help but feel the same hostility, bitterness, and resentment they feel on a daily basis.

Now I’ve watched enough Spanish soaps to know why we are so drawn to drama. Drama is thrilling, entertaining, captivating. There is never a boring moment in a dramatic life… but a dramatic life is also an unhealthy life. Drama increases negative mind chatter, drama sucks the energy out of you, drama eats away at any chance for happiness.

Don’t walk away from negative people, RUN!

I always thought I was being a good friend by lending an ear to the drama llama in my life until one day I realized that indulging in their drama was causing more harm than good. I’ll always have my Zen Buddhist college professor to thank for this realization. One day in class she said, don’t walk away from negative people, RUN!  Life is too short to spend time with people who suck the happiness out of you. I used to think this was selfish and rude, why wouldn’t she listen to a friend in need.

With time I’ve come to understand why, way too much energy is wasted by indulging in other people’s dramas. It’s really hard to live a creative, joyful, peaceful life when you’re too busy feeding the drama llamas.

Friend in Need Vs. Bored Egocentric

I learned the difference between a friend in need and an a bored egocentric the hard way– sheer exhaustion, physical and emotional. I gave so much of my time and energy away to this person, I started to feel bitter. At the end of the day I had no energy left to live my own life, meanwhile they continued blowing petty ridiculous things way out of proportion like some sort of drama energizer bunny.

How to live life drama free: 

I resolved to live my life drama free by not feeding the drama llamas anymore. This means:

  • no pity parties
  • no gossip promoting
  • no complaint validating

In essence, build a reputation for not participating in drama

As entertaining as Spanish soap operas can be, in the end they are just cheap television and there are way more creative things to do with our time, like finding and fulfilling our purpose in life 🙂

Do you know any drama llamas? Why do you think people are attracted to drama?

Related Articles:

1.) 7 CRUCIAL STEPS TO MINIMIZE DRAMA IN YOUR LIFE  

2.) 5 Ways to Live a Drama Free Life

3.) Addicted to attention and drama?

4.) Are You a Drama Queen?

5.) Getting Rid of Drama  

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Life

Author:raimyd

My name is Raimy, I’m a soul-searching writer and amateur photographer. Creative-guru is a by-product of a deep creative passion for personal and spiritual growth.

Subscribe and Connect

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

18 Comments on “Are you feeding a drama llama?”

  1. March 18, 2013 at 3:38 am #

    LIfe itself is a drama! I think!

    • March 18, 2013 at 3:43 am #

      Yea life can be dramatic and its quite exhausting. dramatic as in turning small issues into major crises like all of the time, it can be overwhelming sometimes

      • March 18, 2013 at 3:50 am #

        That´s the beauty of it — overwhelming!

      • March 18, 2013 at 4:30 am #

        if overwhelming means invigorating, then yes. In your opinion, what kind of drama can be the good kind of drama, like the kind that invigorates life in healthy way?

      • March 18, 2013 at 4:33 am #

        Evry good drama is good drama! Even in wars, femine…etc. Surrvivors of that are stronger and winner (and if they can tell they story — it is good drama!)

      • March 18, 2013 at 4:34 am #

        I like that, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger 🙂

      • March 18, 2013 at 4:42 am #

        But it fucks you up for long time!
        http://eldinsmilleart.wordpress.com/2013/03/08/11/

  2. March 18, 2013 at 8:13 am #

    Yes! Once people know you don’t get near that, they’ll stop coming to you with their drama.

    • March 19, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

      It’s hard to do sometimes, but it’s oh so needed. 🙂

  3. March 18, 2013 at 8:45 am #

    You and I sure think alike – for weeks I’ve been rolling a post around in my head entitled “Shedding Toxic Friends.” Maybe this post will give me the impetus to finally write it! (Your Zen Buddhist prof sounds terrific, by the way.)

    And have you seen the Llama Llama book series for kids? I swore that’s what you were referencing in your title, which may just be an artifact of having a 2-year-old in my home to whom I read “Llama Llama Red Pajama” every day to get her over her fear of bedtime. (http://www.amazon.com/Llama-Red-Pajama-Anna-Dewdney/dp/0670059838/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1363614122&sr=1-2&keywords=llama+llama). The books always state, “Lllama LLama, enough of all your llama drama!” Which is a very good point indeed.

    • March 19, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

      Haha that’s so cool there is a children’s book teaching little kids to avoid drama llamas. No I haven’t read that particular book, yet, I just got the term from a friend who used to say “here comes the drama llama” all the time. I would really love to read your post about toxic friends, I’m actually not proud of it but I have a couple of friends who are like that.

  4. March 18, 2013 at 10:43 am #

    I am not a country fan but this song says what you are saying ! and it has been my mantra for a good few years now!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zQzjMqMtUPI and they guy is very cute too!

    • March 19, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

      Haha I loved this video, thanks for sharing the link. You’re right the guy is cute and very creative. I’ll have this video playing on a loop thats for sure. 🙂

  5. March 18, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

    I love this thought. I obviously agree totally. Since I think that our vibration is caused by the way we think and that the people you spend time with, it can significantly affect your life if you choose to entertain these toxic, Drama Llamas, my new favorite phrase. I have known several of these in my time, even had relationships with a few. Very toxic and unpredictable relationships, but relationships non the less. I have never seen a Spanish soap opera, but I think by your description that I have lived one before! You can’t be happy if you are thinking unhappy and destructive thoughts even if they come from someone else’s mind. Thank you again for your thoughtful contribution to my day. Star away from the Drama Llamas! 🙂

    • March 19, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

      “You can’t stay happy if you’re thinking unhappy thoughts even if they are from someone else’s mind!!!” I’m putting this on a post it note and right by computer so I can read it a few times a day. Thanks Jonathan for sharing your experiences with the drama llamas, and if you’ve never seen a Spanish soap then keep it that way lol, they are full of the drama.

  6. March 19, 2013 at 2:23 am #

    I very much need to apply those same resolutions…especially at work!

    • March 19, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

      Oooh man work drama is the worst, it makes your working space unbearable. Yes please apply drama llama scare off tactics at work.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Versatile Blogger Award | Pondering Spawned - March 20, 2013

    […] Creative Guru […]

Leave a Reply

L i m i t l e s s S k i e s

The moment we give in to prejudice, we stop living.

The New Divine Humanity

L' Aura Pleiadian

FaithDream's Inspiration

Where dreams really do come true.

Poetic musings

A way to put my thoughts into words... May be I am just talking to myself...may be aloud...These are my thoughts in a poetic form, which are very much a part of me and which makes me what I am...

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

