Air Out Your Insecurities

This is Me!

This is Me!

You know what will make you feel light as a feather? Airing out your deep, dark, despicable thoughts. You know, the ones that you keep to yourself because you’re so afraid of what others might think of you.  I’m taking this time now to air out my insecurities, fears, and doubts because as a great philosopher once said, “ One of the fundamental laws of life is this: whatsoever you hide goes on growing, and whatsoever you expose, if it is wrong it disappears, evaporates in the sun, and if it is right it is nourished.” – Osho

Fears, insecurities, and doubts give rise to pretension and pseudoness. One needs to be fearless to be authentic. We all reach this point in the journey of self-discovery, the moment we finally decide to unmask ourselves and let the sunshine caress our beautiful true face.

So here I go!

The last thing I would want anybody to know about me is that I consider myself a bit of an insecure looser.  GASP, there I said it! I’m insecure about my body and about my accomplishments. I’m a bundle of insecurities and because of this I just can’t seem to enjoy life as it should be.

I worry about my hair, is it too puffy or too flat?

I worry about my nose, is it too big for my face or to wide?

I worry about the shape of my face, is it too skinny, too long, and oh the chicken pox scars!

And that’s just my head, further down my body there is plenty more to be scrutinized.

My neck is too skinny. My shoulders are too broad. My arms are too flabby.

I hate my muffin top.

My butt is too dimply. My thighs are too fat. My ankles are too skinny.

I hate my ostrich legs.

I can find a defect with every part of my physical body, the poor thing!

And that’s only on the outside, inside there is plenty more to be scrutinized.

I’m socially inept. I’m needy, afraid to do things by myself. I’m incapable of success.

I hate my incompetence.

I’m a pushover. I’m a coward. I’m a looser.

I hate my feebleness.

 I try to hide all my inadequacies, never let anyone know deep inside I’m really just an insecure little girl. It’s useless, what’s the point of putting on a show and feeling like a looser while alone? No, I want to truly love who I am. I want to be a healthy person both mentally and physically, no longer afraid to show off the one I really am.

How do we come to love ourselves?

So how do we get there? How do we truly come to love ourselves and no longer be afraid to show our true face?

Know that any fear, inadequacy, and doubt can be overcome, you just have to make the conscious choice to do so.

Expose it, air it out, let the sun evaporate whatever it is that’s keeping you from living a healthy happy life. Then make whatever changes you need to make.

For me these changes include making time to exercise daily, eating less chocolates, meditating, confronting my fears of doing things alone, and changing wasteful habits.

We all have issues and none of us are the perfect person, but we all have the potential to better ourselves. I for one intend to be a physically healthy, creative, joyful, optimistic, fulfilled being. This is my intent and I expose it in order to nourish it.

If there is something you would like to expose, I pray you find the courage to do so.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Fears, Life, Philosophy

Author:raimyd

My name is Raimy, I’m a soul-searching writer and amateur photographer. Creative-guru is a by-product of a deep creative passion for personal and spiritual growth.

Subscribe and Connect

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

12 Comments on “Air Out Your Insecurities”

  1. April 9, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

    Air it out, girl, air it out! You are beautiful for all your flaws, as are we all.

    One of my favorite parts of “Good Will Hunting” (one of my favorite movies, as it were) is when Robin Williams’ character talks about what he remembers about his late wife. It was all the “flaws” that he cherished. “People call these things imperfections,” he said, “but they’re not. That’s the good stuff.” I think of that line whenever I start feeling insecure about myself. Which is often 🙂

    • April 15, 2013 at 9:41 am #

      And I will think of this line myself in times of darkness. Thank you so much for sharing these words and for your encouragement, it means a great deal to me. 🙂

  2. April 9, 2013 at 8:26 pm #

    I’ve been reading several books on Buddhism and the idea of “which seeds you water” are the ones that will grow. Trying to water the good, positive thoughts to allow them to grow. We’re all pretty insecure. I will air out my dark thought of fearing I will never be worthy of love. Kind of silly, since I am blessed with love daily.

    • April 15, 2013 at 9:39 am #

      Lisa, I’m so glad to hear that your airing out that thought because it is definitely one that the sun needs to evaporate. You’re worthy of infinite love, never forget that. Thank you so much for sharing.

  3. April 9, 2013 at 9:50 pm #

    Raimy, I think I see a caterpillar starting to cocoon. A beautiful butterfly is coming. Truth is the caterpillar was already beautiful, but was afraid to show us its beauty. You just showed us your beauty. Get ready to fly. Thank you for leading the way with this courageous post. I know women have so much more to worry about in terms of body image and standards of beauty, but I can relate to so much in this post. Can’t wait to see what happens next. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

    • April 15, 2013 at 9:37 am #

      Thanks Kozo, I’m so happy that I’m able to grow alongside so many encouraging, inspiring, and wonderful people such as yourself. 🙂

  4. April 10, 2013 at 4:36 am #

    We all have insecurities and I am so proud of you for baring yours, why not write a list of your good points . Think about it and do not dismiss it out of hand. I bet you will be surprised at the list. Now as for me there is not enough room here for my faults and short falls!! 😉 Excellent post! xx

    • April 15, 2013 at 9:36 am #

      Thanks Willow. Yes sometimes it’s easier to acknowledge our shortfalls than our good points, but you’re right they deserve as much airing out as the bad ones. 🙂

      • April 15, 2013 at 9:37 am #

        Yes if I did not hit the positive button occasionally I would disappear down the plug hole!! 😉 xx

      • April 15, 2013 at 9:44 am #

        haha love this, I will work on hitting that button more often. 🙂

      • April 15, 2013 at 11:14 am #

        😉

  5. April 11, 2013 at 5:03 pm #

    http://clarkkent07.wordpress.com/2013/04/11/wordpress-family-award/ Because we love you so much! 😉

Leave a Reply

L i m i t l e s s S k i e s

The moment we give in to prejudice, we stop living.

The New Divine Humanity

L' Aura Pleiadian

FaithDream's Inspiration

Where dreams really do come true.

Poetic musings

A way to put my thoughts into words... May be I am just talking to myself...may be aloud...These are my thoughts in a poetic form, which are very much a part of me and which makes me what I am...

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

