Finding yourself in the mundane

Sometimes it pays off being a couch potato

Sometimes it pays to be a couch potato

Whoever said you can’t learn anything from watching T.V.? Television is my favorite vice and though I often regret time squandered in front of the screen, these particular 30 minutes were worth it. While watching my favorite Wednesday sitcom on ABC,  I realized that finding who you are can be as simple as becoming aware of all the little things you do in your daily routine.

You can’t label yourself with words, rather it is what you do everyday that defines you.

This particularly insightful episode of The Middle, a show about a working class American family, was about Frankie, the mother, trying to describe herself during a job interview. She failed to get the job because she just didn’t know who she was.

“Trying to figure out who I am, who am I? I really don’t know. What about nice, hardworker, oh who am I kidding I’m not any of these.” She just could not find the right word to label herself, to wrap up her entire significance in a couple of customary words was just impossible.

At her next attempt when asked “Tell me who is Frankie Heck?” she breaks down and says, “You know what I don’t know, I just don’t know. You want one word to describe me it’s MOM, there that’s it. I can get dressed in under 30 seconds, I can pull anything out of my bag without even looking, I can hold off creditors for months, I can listen to 5 conversations at once.”

She breaks down the definition of the word mom into all the mundane, seemingly unimportant actions that define her role as a mother. This is how she finally figures out who she is without romanticizing, idealizing, nor glamorizing.

Welcome to my circus

Welcome to my circus

We can find the meaning of ourselves in the mundane routine activities of our daily lives. In my case I would say; I can break off a cat fight better than any lion tamer, I can run a trucking company,  a blog, and a zoo all at once, I can research and find anything on the internet in 3 clicks or less, I can scan a business letter and get the gist in 15 seconds or less. This is who I am everyday. A multi-tasker, an animal caretaker, an information disseminator.

Becoming conscious of your daily habits and actions is important. Most of the time these little things become so automatic we tend to forget their significance– they make us who we are!

Moreover, realizing that what you do everyday can come to define you is meaningful because it makes transformation possible. If you want to become a writer, start writing everyday. If you want to become an athlete, incorporate exercise into your daily routine. If you want to be a baker, then get that oven to 350 degrees. You get the gist right?

Who you are is what you do everyday.

So, what have you done today?

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Life

Author:raimyd

My name is Raimy, I’m a soul-searching writer and amateur photographer. Creative-guru is a by-product of a deep creative passion for personal and spiritual growth.

Subscribe and Connect

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Finding yourself in the mundane”

  1. April 15, 2013 at 9:31 am #

    • April 16, 2013 at 11:57 pm #

      I really enjoyed this song, it’s so uplifting. How do you find such awesome YouTube videos? Thank you so much for sharing this here. 🙂

  2. April 15, 2013 at 9:58 am #

    One of the things my Teacher taught me that I’m reminded of in reading this post is that the only difference between the mundane and the sacred is that we have not yet found the lesson (whatever lesson) in that which we call ‘the mundane.’

    I used to get stuck in victim mode whenever I’d have a negative experience until I learned that our actions reflect who each of us are – not the people or circumstances with whom/which we’re interacting. If I act like a b&#$h, that’s not about the person or people with whom I interact (regardless of what they were doing or did) it’s about me.

    I agree a lot with what you say here. If someone is seeking transformation, start with changing your behaviors. The internal will eventually shift to reflect the external behavior, and it’s a hell of a lot easier to create change starting with behavior than to start to try to change what’s on our insides with no other catalyst. Thanks so much for sharing this!

    • April 16, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

      I really like this idea about the mundane vs. the sacred. Every single day then has the potential to be sacred and extraordinary. This is a really great way to go about living, especially realizing that we are not victims of anyone or anything. I used to be the same way, there is actually a lot of this mentality in my culture. People think that whenever things go wrong it’s because someone who hates them has wished them evil and thus bad things happen to them. I guess it’s easier to wallow in victimhood than to take full responsibility for our mistakes. Thanks for your insights, I couldn’t agree more.

  3. April 15, 2013 at 10:19 am #

    I can look at your face, feel your pulse, palate your belly, and inspect your tongue, and then tell you about the condition of your internal organs. I can pour tea so that it appears the tea is pouring itself. I practice a thousands of years old self cultivation skill set daily. I can painstakingly read Chinese. When i look in peoples’ eyes i see their ancestors and feel their essence in my abdomen. I communicate with my lover on a daily basis, even though she is 2 000 miles away. If you let me, the first time we meet, our conversation will get real deep, real fast.

    • April 16, 2013 at 10:05 pm #

      Now those are some amazing skills especially the Chinese, I took one semester so I know how excruciatingly difficult that is. How did you come to learn to see people’s ancestors though? That is really something else!

      • April 29, 2013 at 3:50 pm #

        “Seeing” is sort of misnomer in this respect, it is the only word i have in English to describe the experience of “mind vision.” It’s not seeing in the sense of senses; there are no apparitions to be “seen.” It feels more like a flash of insight, or that moment that drives one to find the pen and paper or the nearest computer or typewriter.

Leave a Reply

L i m i t l e s s S k i e s

The moment we give in to prejudice, we stop living.

The New Divine Humanity

L' Aura Pleiadian

FaithDream's Inspiration

Where dreams really do come true.

Poetic musings

A way to put my thoughts into words... May be I am just talking to myself...may be aloud...These are my thoughts in a poetic form, which are very much a part of me and which makes me what I am...

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

INFJoe

I'm an INFJ joe amid extroverts, sensors, thinkers, and perceivers, and still trying to come to terms with it on a daily basis.

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

