An Ode To Change

Image by Gilad

Image by Gilad

I pray for Change religiously

as if Change were heaven sent,

a miracle that ends all distress.

My whole life I’ve sought Change

I thought of Change as this tangible moment in time

a moment when from dark to light

all of your dreams just come true.

I see it in every enviable person living my dream,

the writer living in a loft in San Francisco

married to the love of her dreams,

every day living out her creative passion

while sipping on a cup of medium-dark roast.

Why, I ask, can’t that be me today?

One thing seems to be clearer now,

Change– how could I be so dense,

Isn’t an actual thing that you see!

Change is as subtle and invisible to us

as the rotation of this great Earth.

You think you’re standing still,

Yet there is more movement than you can begin to feel.

You can’t see Change, until

You change the way you see.

See that Change isn’t just one prodigious moment

See that Change is a way of life

See that life is never still

See that life isn’t something static that you can get stuck in.

Life is a living organism- cyclical, rhythmical, whimsical.

Everyone and everything is on its way somewhere.

Even when we hopelessly feel like we are going nowhere.

We are never really stuck, it’s all an internal struggle

You can only get stuck in your mind, in your thoughts, in your beliefs.

No matter where I go, as long as I don’t change me–

how I think, see, perceive– no place will ever differ.

I keep dreaming about how it must feel once I finally snag this Change

that I so desperately crave.

But in truth, this dream will never be real.

It’s a naive,

I’ve come to understand, Change isn’t a thing that you obtain.

You can’t see Change, until

You change the way you see.

See that Change isn’t just one prodigious moment

See that Change is a way of life

See that life is never still

See that life isn’t something static that you can get stuck in.

Life is a living organism- cyclical, rhythmical, whimsical.

One thing comforts me to know,

Where I am today, she was once back then.

Where she is today, I will be one day.

At least, that’s what I tell myself

As I patiently await

For Change to come my way.

Flow of Life

Flow of Life

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Life, Musings

Author:raimyd

My name is Raimy, I’m a soul-searching writer and amateur photographer. Creative-guru is a by-product of a deep creative passion for personal and spiritual growth.

Subscribe and Connect

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

11 Comments on “An Ode To Change”

  1. May 17, 2013 at 9:09 am #

    Hey there Raimy-D. Great post. Change has been on my mind the last few days. Why people are afraid of it, why some people love it. How do I feel about it is the real question? I am always amazed by change, not as it unfolds but when I look at the result later. Can you believe that it was only two months ago that……………? You can fill in the blank of the amazing things that have probably happened for you. Thank you for the great post. Thought provoking as usual. 🙂

    • May 17, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

      Yea, change just creeps up on you sometimes, that’s how it feels for me. While I’m busy planning how life should be, Change just decides to pop and show me who’s really running the show. Thanks for stopping by today Jonathan, I’m really happy to hear from you.

      • May 17, 2013 at 2:49 pm #

        I know I should be around more, but life gets in the way. I always learn something from your blog. I know you have been branching out and it is great to see. Keep on growing and being the great person you have always been. 🙂

      • May 17, 2013 at 3:12 pm #

        🙂

  2. May 17, 2013 at 11:01 am #

    Change is indeed incremental, and so subtle we often don’t notice it until it has passed, as you said. Like so many things in life, the best way to get to where you want to go is to keep active and busy (while being reflective, of course!) and things will start to change without you noticing it, which you seem to understand well. I feel like life is a lot like a watched pot – never boils while I’m hovering over it! 🙂

    • May 17, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

      I really like the pot/life metaphor, that’s exactly how life feels like to me. I agree it’s best to just keep active, busy, and reflective, instead of chasing Change– which will come when it darn well pleases, or so it seems. I really enjoyed this comment, thank you for leaving me your thoughts. 🙂

  3. May 17, 2013 at 5:20 pm #

    Love this, Raimy. “You can’t see Change, until

    You change the way you see.” So wise. The Buddha said “all life is impermanent.” Everything changes. I’m trying to learn to love the slide of change. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

    • May 17, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

      “The slide of change,” I like that– I think change is always welcomed when you’re in a not so great place or in limbo, as I am right now. Not really here, not really there, not really anywhere. But that’s me that’s why I pray for change. Now once we are in a more stable and happy place, change can sometimes be a little less hoped for. Either way, I hope your doing great and if you are seeking change, I hope you get it my friend. Thanks for your thoughts, always great hearing from you. 🙂

  4. May 19, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

    i love your poetry

    • May 20, 2013 at 11:34 pm #

      Thank you very much, it means a lot to me coming from you. I was hesitant to call it poetry, because well I just never considered myself any good at it, but I’ll keep practicing and learning from great poets such as yourself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

L i m i t l e s s S k i e s

The moment we give in to prejudice, we stop living.

The New Divine Humanity

L' Aura Pleiadian

FaithDream's Inspiration

Where dreams really do come true.

Poetic musings

A way to put my thoughts into words... May be I am just talking to myself...may be aloud...These are my thoughts in a poetic form, which are very much a part of me and which makes me what I am...

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

INFJoe

I'm an INFJ joe amid extroverts, sensors, thinkers, and perceivers, and still trying to come to terms with it on a daily basis.

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

thirty summer

carving words out of willows

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

